Possibly to refresh data programmatically from VBA?

Discussion of issues, suggestions and bugs of Devart Excel Add-ins, our product line for connecting Excel to external data from cloud applications and databases
Post Reply
ozkresgprm
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon 08 Oct 2018 15:48

Possibly to refresh data programmatically from VBA?

Post by ozkresgprm » Mon 08 Oct 2018 15:56

I would like to refresh data as part of another macro. Is this possible?

Pinturiccio
Devart Team
Posts: 2355
Joined: Wed 02 Nov 2011 09:44

Re: Possibly to refresh data programmatically from VBA?

Post by Pinturiccio » Fri 12 Oct 2018 11:05

At the moment, Devart Excel Add-ins do not support interaction with VBA. We will investigate the possibility to support using VBA, but there is no any timeframe.

pgleave
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed 20 Feb 2019 10:04

Re: Possibly to refresh data programmatically from VBA?

Post by pgleave » Wed 20 Feb 2019 13:19

Hi guys

I can see that this functionality has been asked about for over 4 years in various threads in this forum, with the response that it's going to be investigated. What's the plan? Is it even on your development roadmap? The devart excel plugin is great but also almost useless if it can't be triggered by automation. Surely this isn't something that requires 4 years to investigate?

I'd be purchasing it if it did this.

Thanks

Paul

Pinturiccio
Devart Team
Posts: 2355
Joined: Wed 02 Nov 2011 09:44

Re: Possibly to refresh data programmatically from VBA?

Post by Pinturiccio » Thu 21 Feb 2019 15:52

At the moment VBA support is not included to our roadmap, and there is no timeframe.

pgleave
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed 20 Feb 2019 10:04

Re: Possibly to refresh data programmatically from VBA?

Post by pgleave » Thu 21 Feb 2019 16:51

OK. It's an Excel plugin. We both know that there will be a way to call its procedures. It must be annoying to have potential customers asking about fundamentally important features that you can't be bothered to consider.

How do I escalate this request to a decision-maker at Devart?

Pinturiccio
Devart Team
Posts: 2355
Joined: Wed 02 Nov 2011 09:44

Re: Possibly to refresh data programmatically from VBA?

Post by Pinturiccio » Wed 27 Feb 2019 10:57

We forwarded your request to our project manager, and now we are considering whether to raise priority for the VBA support feature. We will post here when we come to a decision.

pgleave
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed 20 Feb 2019 10:04

Re: Possibly to refresh data programmatically from VBA?

Post by pgleave » Wed 27 Feb 2019 15:36

OK thank you.

Post Reply