Cloned cursor?

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding Virtual Data Access Components for Delphi, C++Builder, Lazarus (and FPC)
Post Reply
kaffeburk
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon 29 Jan 2007 08:03

Cloned cursor?

Post by kaffeburk » Thu 21 Jun 2018 10:19

Does any of the VirtualDAC products offer cloned cursors? (like in clientdatasets).

MaximG
Devart Team
Posts: 1483
Joined: Mon 06 Jul 2015 11:34

Re: Cloned cursor?

Post by MaximG » Fri 22 Jun 2018 06:54

To load data from another dataset, there is the Assign method in VirtualDAC. For example, you can find the description of this method for VirtualTable component by the link : https://www.devart.com/virtualdac/docs/ ... bject).htm

kaffeburk
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon 29 Jan 2007 08:03

Re: Cloned cursor?

Post by kaffeburk » Mon 25 Jun 2018 10:54

That wont do, then i have duplicated the data (doubled the amount of used ram) and how do i sync it? I need the same data but available through multiple cursors.

azyk
Devart Team
Posts: 1119
Joined: Fri 11 Apr 2014 11:47
Location: Alpha Centauri A

Re: Cloned cursor?

Post by azyk » Tue 26 Jun 2018 07:42

Currently, VirtualDAC has no cloned cursor functionality. You can leave your suggestion at our UserVoice ( https://devart.uservoice.com/forums/104 ... ed-cursors ) and if many users vote for your suggestion, we will implement it.

kaffeburk
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon 29 Jan 2007 08:03

Re: Cloned cursor?

Post by kaffeburk » Wed 27 Jun 2018 06:31

Does Uniquery have it? I see that Firedac's query have cloned cursor and also load from file.

bork
Devart Team
Posts: 649
Joined: Fri 12 Mar 2010 07:55

Re: Cloned cursor?

Post by bork » Wed 27 Jun 2018 07:26

Now VirtualDAC and UniDAC don't support CloneCursor functionality like TClientDataSet. We plan to add this functionality in one of the next VirtualDAC and UniDAC versions. You can vote for this feature at UserVoice to speed up the implementation.

Post Reply