SDAC 3.8 --> 4.00 loosing Param list defs

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding SDAC (SQL Server Data Access Components) for Delphi, C++Builder, Lazarus (and FPC)
Post Reply
chuck
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri 21 Jul 2006 08:04
Location: Hamburg

SDAC 3.8 --> 4.00 loosing Param list defs

Post by chuck » Thu 29 Mar 2007 06:30

I installed version 4 of the sdac comps and loaded the 3.8 data module.
After loading all param list defs are lost. Is there any way to keep them?

chuck, MORE PROJECTS

Jackson
Posts: 512
Joined: Thu 26 Jan 2006 10:06

Post by Jackson » Thu 29 Mar 2007 08:43

We couldn't reproduce the problem.
Please send us (evgeniym*crlab*com) a complete small test project to reproduce the problem;
include definition of your own database objects; don't use third party components.

Also supply us the following information
- Exact version of Delphi or C++ Builder.
- Exact version of Microsoft SQL Server and OLE DB provider you use. You can see it the Info sheet of TMSConnection Editor.

Ludek
Posts: 296
Joined: Thu 12 Oct 2006 09:34

Post by Ludek » Fri 06 Apr 2007 16:40

I can see the same behaviour. If i set the parameter properties to:
DataType = ftInteger
save the form, again open the form, all the parameter have the datatype set to ftUnknown. The connection property is not set and one parameter name appers many times in the query.

Jackson
Posts: 512
Joined: Thu 26 Jan 2006 10:06

Post by Jackson » Tue 10 Apr 2007 09:28

Please specify the exact sequence of operations to reproduce the problem.

Ludek
Posts: 296
Joined: Thu 12 Oct 2006 09:34

Post by Ludek » Tue 10 Apr 2007 12:44

The sequence is very simple. I make a form in delphi designer, with a TMSQuery placed on it, with some parameters, and I set the parameter's properties (DataType) to some value (ftInteger). I save the form, close the form, again open the form. The parameter properties get lost = the DataType is set to ftUnknown (instead of ftInteger). I don't have the connection property of the TMSQuery set (I create the connection at run-time). And one parameter appears in the query more times. (like select * from where = :param1 and = :param1). Using SDAC3 the parameter properties didn't get lost.

Jackson
Posts: 512
Joined: Thu 26 Jan 2006 10:06

Post by Jackson » Wed 11 Apr 2007 12:46

We couldn't reproduce the problem using your description.
Please download the last SDAC version 4.00.0.5 and try again.

Ludek
Posts: 296
Joined: Thu 12 Oct 2006 09:34

Post by Ludek » Wed 11 Apr 2007 13:03

I would like to try, but I can't - I don't have so much time to solve the terrible problems on reinstall of SDAC 3. I had to reinstall it at least 10 times, each time deleting so much registry keys and files, deleting delphi packages, till delphi started again without errors... so many errors like @crbatchmove@crbatchmove not found, or @crxml@initialization@qqqv not found... is it now REALLY safe to install sdac 4.0.0.5 and then revert back to 3.80.? :? the last time, it was 4.0.0.4... and windows vista :oops: - the uninstall of sdac 4 appeared to be too fast for me, but I didn't see any errors... could you have a look at it?

Jackson
Posts: 512
Joined: Thu 26 Jan 2006 10:06

Post by Jackson » Fri 13 Apr 2007 15:20

Follow the next steps:
1) Uninstall SDAC.
2) Search for dacXX.bpl, dacvclXX.bpl, dcldacXX.bpl, sdacXX.bpl, sdacvclXX.bpl, dclsdacXX.bpl files at your HDD and delete them.
3) Run Delphi and check that it is started without errors.
4) Install SDAC once more.

If you have any other DAC products installed, please make sure that they are all compatible.
After that if you want to install SDAC 4, you should at first uninstall SDAC 3 and other incompatible DAC products using Add or Remove Programs item in Control Panel.

We couldn't reproduce the problem with parametrs neither with SDAC 4.00.0.4 nor with SDAC 4.00.0.5.

Ludek
Posts: 296
Joined: Thu 12 Oct 2006 09:34

Post by Ludek » Tue 17 Apr 2007 11:50

With current reinstall of SDAC 4 (4.0.0.5) the problem diappeared. perhaps it was really connected with the 4.0.0.4 or the huge reinstallation problems... thanks for your time!

Post Reply