Table value parameter for TMSStoredProc

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding SDAC (SQL Server Data Access Components) for Delphi, C++Builder, Lazarus (and FPC)
krhdevart

Table value parameter for TMSStoredProc

Post by krhdevart » Sat 09 Apr 2022 16:31

I first created the application I'm making changes to some 15 years ago. I didn't know about SDAC at the time and used all native TADO components. And there was no option in "MS SQL 2000" to use table variables as stored procedure input parameters. In vb.net projects with MS SQL I've been using table parameters with stored procedures for many years now. I have a need to use that strategy with my old delphi project that I upgraded to tokyo 10.2 (and MS SQL 2017) a few years back. I also bought the SDAC components at that time but only now have a need for them.

I'm having trouble getting this working. I am trying to figure out how to get some data into a table in code so that I can use it here:

sp.Params.ParamByName('@RawMatlIDs').AsTable := <in memory table of some kind>

In the past I've used the DevExpress TDxMemData control for all sorts of in memory table needs. That won't work here.

I've tried using TMSTableData because I found an example of that in the SDAC documentation (https://docs.devart.com/sdac/table_valu ... meters.htm).

var
tblSelRawMatls: TMSTableData;

tblSelRawMatls.Connection := KTData.dmKT.cnnKT_SDAC; //<<<<<< ERROR HERE but no explanation for it in E.Message
tblSelRawMatls.Open;
tblSelRawMatls.TableTypeName := 'TT_RawMatlIDs';
tblSelRawMatls.Append;
tblSelRawMatls.Fields[0].AsString := '1';
tblSelRawMatls.Fields[1].AsString := '2';
tblSelRawMatls.Post;

cnnKT_SDAC is connected just fine but when I apply that connection to the TMSTableData it crashes.

I tried using an actual TMSTableData component on the form and I can connect to my database but when I try to set the table type I get an error: "table-valued parameter type is not supported by sql server"