Bug in SDAC 7.2.9

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding SDAC (SQL Server Data Access Components) for Delphi, C++Builder, Lazarus (and FPC)
Post Reply
hcknobel
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon 11 Jan 2016 20:39

Bug in SDAC 7.2.9

Post by hcknobel » Mon 11 Jan 2016 20:51

(I see that this appears to be the same issue discussed in the "Critical round error" thread. Sorry for the redundancy)

After I updated to 7.2.9, I found that some data returned from SQL Server were retrieved incorrectly. Some were 10 times too large (when accessed after the query using FieldByName('itemvalue').AsFloat), others were 100 too large, and the rest were correct.

This is using the 64-bit Delphi 10 Seattle compiler, but only AFTER 7.2.9 was installed. The problem does not occur when I used my Delphi 2009 32-bit compiler or after I downgraded my SDAC install to 7.2.8. (I did not try the 32-bit version of 7.2.9 in Delphi 10.)

This is a dangerous problem, as it is not an obvious error until comparisons with known good data are performed. It seems to be a side-effect of the one of the 7.2.9 fixes "Bug with storing some numbers with floating point is fixed".

AlexP
Devart Team
Posts: 5530
Joined: Tue 10 Aug 2010 11:35

Re: Bug in SDAC 7.2.9

Post by AlexP » Tue 12 Jan 2016 12:21

Hello,

We have already fixed the problem. The fix will be included in the next version.

m.deltoso
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed 10 Dec 2014 09:19

Re: Bug in SDAC 7.2.9

Post by m.deltoso » Tue 12 Jan 2016 16:43

Dear Devart,

we have exactly the same problem. Is there a patch to solve the problem?
Otherwise we have to downgrade to version 7.2.8 because this is a very dangerous problem!

azyk
Devart Team
Posts: 1057
Joined: Fri 11 Apr 2014 11:47
Location: Alpha Centauri A

Re: Bug in SDAC 7.2.9

Post by azyk » Wed 13 Jan 2016 12:36

If you want to get this fix before the next SDAC version is released, please provide your license number to andreyz*devart*com and we will send you a night build.

GNiessen
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed 18 Jan 2012 20:15

Re: Bug in SDAC 7.2.9

Post by GNiessen » Thu 11 Feb 2016 14:13

Is there ever going to be an officially released fix for this? I am still on 7.2.8 as this issue would affect me. And it has been almost two months since the last release.

azyk
Devart Team
Posts: 1057
Joined: Fri 11 Apr 2014 11:47
Location: Alpha Centauri A

Re: Bug in SDAC 7.2.9

Post by azyk » Fri 12 Feb 2016 10:54

SDAC version 7.2.10 including this fix is officially available for download. Please update SDAC to this version and let us know if the problem is still reproduced.

GNiessen
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed 18 Jan 2012 20:15

Re: Bug in SDAC 7.2.9

Post by GNiessen » Mon 15 Feb 2016 14:21

Isn't that usually posted in the Announcement section that the new version is available?

azyk
Devart Team
Posts: 1057
Joined: Fri 11 Apr 2014 11:47
Location: Alpha Centauri A

Re: Bug in SDAC 7.2.9

Post by azyk » Tue 16 Feb 2016 10:06

Thank you for your notice. We have updated the information about SDAC 7.2.10 at our forum: http://forums.devart.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=33221 .

Post Reply