I cannot connect to the server

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding SDAC (SQL Server Data Access Components) for Delphi, C++Builder, Lazarus (and FPC)
Post Reply
cristian_cobuz
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon 19 Apr 2010 11:54

I cannot connect to the server

Post by cristian_cobuz » Mon 19 Apr 2010 12:06

I'm trying to connect to a MSSQL EXPRESS with authetentification using server mode but it doesn't work.
Using windows authentification, it works fine.

Using authetentificationmode I get the message
"Cannot connect with user sa"

I can connect with other applications in server mode

Any ideas would be great

Dimon
Devart Team
Posts: 2885
Joined: Mon 05 Mar 2007 16:32

Post by Dimon » Mon 19 Apr 2010 14:14

Please, check if the Password property is correct and that the specified user has privileges to access to the database. Also specify the SDAC version you are using.

cristian_cobuz
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon 19 Apr 2010 11:54

Post by cristian_cobuz » Tue 20 Apr 2010 08:12

The password property is correct, the user is "sa" and the
component version is 4.8 (trial) for Delphi 7


Do I have to install additional software components on my computer or make some special settings for the sql server?

Any ideas would be great

Dimon
Devart Team
Posts: 2885
Joined: Mon 05 Mar 2007 16:32

Post by Dimon » Tue 20 Apr 2010 09:39

Can you connect to SQL Server with SDAC using Windows authentication?
Also try to use the SQL Native Client provider.

cristian_cobuz
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon 19 Apr 2010 11:54

Post by cristian_cobuz » Tue 20 Apr 2010 11:20

Using windows authentification, it works fine.

Dimon
Devart Team
Posts: 2885
Joined: Mon 05 Mar 2007 16:32

Post by Dimon » Tue 20 Apr 2010 12:18

This is a very strange situation. Please try to use ADO components (TADOConnection) to connect to SQL server. If connection will be established, please send us the connection string.

tinof
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri 16 Dec 2005 07:41

Post by tinof » Tue 20 Apr 2010 16:49

Perhaps it is tooo simple -

But do you have checked, if sql server authentication is enabled at this server (Management Studio -> select Server -> Settings -> Safety)?

Can you connect with any other tool (i.e. Management Studio) using server auth?

Just one idea (i have had the same problem just a couple of days before :-) )

tino

Post Reply