Copy Database without Data

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding SDAC (SQL Server Data Access Components) for Delphi, C++Builder, Lazarus (and FPC)
Post Reply
siik
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri 12 Jun 2009 06:10

Copy Database without Data

Post by siik » Fri 19 Jun 2009 06:14

Hi,

Ive been searching on this all day, but no-one seems to have an easy solution!

All i want to do is copy a database i have made manually to a new database with a new name and without all the data.

So if my original database is 'DBOrig' then i would like to make a new database on the same server called 'DBNew' which has exactly the same schema as 'DBOrig', but with no data in any of the tables.

This surely cannot be that hard.

Help Appreciated

Dimon
Devart Team
Posts: 2885
Joined: Mon 05 Mar 2007 16:32

Post by Dimon » Fri 19 Jun 2009 12:52

SDAC doesn't support a functionality to copy a database structure.

johncmolyneux
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri 26 Jun 2009 10:06

Post by johncmolyneux » Fri 26 Jun 2009 13:31

Hi.

You're looking for a script for this really, rather than a component to do it. If you need some help with that, I'd be happy to help out. My email is my username at hotmail dot com.

Thanks,

John.

Post Reply