"Unspecified Error" error with SQL 2008

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding SDAC (SQL Server Data Access Components) for Delphi, C++Builder, Lazarus (and FPC)
Post Reply
Vladimir
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri 15 Aug 2008 18:09

"Unspecified Error" error with SQL 2008

Post by Vladimir » Thu 02 Oct 2008 18:48

The latest SDAC build, 4.50.0.39.
Trying to use SQL 2008 client produces
---------------------------
Error
---------------------------
Unspecified error
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------

To duplicate:
Uninstall SQL 2005 client.
Have SQL 2008 client installed only, either with local SQL 2008 server or trying to connect to remote SQL 2008 Server

program TestSDAC_snac;

{$APPTYPE CONSOLE}

{
CREATE PROCEDURE dbo.spAPP_DoNothing @foo datetime
AS
go
}

uses
SysUtils, MSAccess, Activex, OLEDBAccess;

var
conn: TMSConnection;
proc: TMSStoredProc;
begin
CoInitialize(nil);

conn := TMSConnection.Create(nil);
conn.Server := 'vsic64';
conn.Database := 'inSIght_4_4';
conn.Authentication := auWindows;
conn.Open;

proc := TMSStoredProc.Create(nil);
try
proc.Connection := conn;
proc.StoredProcName := 'spAPP_DoNothing';
proc.Prepare;
proc.ParamByName('foo').AsDate := Now;

proc.Open;

finally FreeAndNil(proc); end;

end.

Please fix this.
thanks

Dimon
Devart Team
Posts: 2885
Joined: Mon 05 Mar 2007 16:32

Post by Dimon » Tue 07 Oct 2008 12:02

Please specify the exact moment when the error is raised.

Vladimir
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri 15 Aug 2008 18:09

Post by Vladimir » Tue 07 Oct 2008 21:27

It happens when the “proc.Open” is called

Dimon
Devart Team
Posts: 2885
Joined: Mon 05 Mar 2007 16:32

Post by Dimon » Fri 10 Oct 2008 14:53

This problem is caused by some peculiarities of SQL Server 2008. We are investigating the problem. As soon as we solve the problem we will let you know.

Vladimir
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri 15 Aug 2008 18:09

Post by Vladimir » Thu 27 Nov 2008 20:56

Any revelations on this issue? SDAC 4.7 does not address this issue, tested.

Dimon
Devart Team
Posts: 2885
Joined: Mon 05 Mar 2007 16:32

Post by Dimon » Mon 01 Dec 2008 07:13

Please check if the latest SDAC build (4.70.0.42) solves the problem.

Vladimir
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri 15 Aug 2008 18:09

Post by Vladimir » Mon 01 Dec 2008 19:52

that specified build does not solve the problem.

Dimon
Devart Team
Posts: 2885
Joined: Mon 05 Mar 2007 16:32

Post by Dimon » Tue 02 Dec 2008 12:53

Thank you for information. We have reproduced this problem and fixed it. This fix will be included in the next SDAC build.

Post Reply