Error when trying to update Zoho

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding usage of ODBC Drivers
Post Reply
cshackleton
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed 24 Nov 2021 17:22

Error when trying to update Zoho

Post by cshackleton » Wed 24 Nov 2021 17:58

OLE DB provider "MSDASQL" for linked server "ZOHOCRM" returned message "[Devart][ODBC][Zoho CRM]SQLite error
parser stack overflow".
Msg 7343, Level 16, State 4, Line 11
The OLE DB provider "MSDASQL" for linked server "ZOHOCRM" could not UPDATE table "[ZOHOCRM]...[Contacts]".

I have tried updating a few different fields on a contact record in a few different ways.

Code: Select all

UPDATE openquery(ZOHOCRM,'SELECT * FROM Contacts WHERE Id=''xxxx''') SET Salutation='Mr.'
UPDATE [ZOHOCRM]...[Contacts] set Salutation='Mr.' WHERE Id='xxxx'
SELECT statements work as expected

Code: Select all

SELECT * FROM [ZOHOCRM]...[Contacts] WHERE Id='xxxx'
I also added the Contacts table to an access database and was able to view the data but when I tried to make updates I would get the same error.

Seems like it might be related to this thread viewtopic.php?f=55&t=48622&p=200270&hil ... ow#p200270

MaximG
Devart Team
Posts: 1822
Joined: Mon 06 Jul 2015 11:34

Re: Error when trying to update Zoho

Post by MaximG » Fri 26 Nov 2021 18:37

Try to execute following query : EXEC (' UPDATE [Contacts] Set Salutation=''Mr.'' WHERE Id=''xxxx''') at [ZOHOCRM]

cshackleton
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed 24 Nov 2021 17:22

Re: Error when trying to update Zoho

Post by cshackleton » Fri 26 Nov 2021 19:45

The first time I tried it gave an error about RPC not being enabled. After I enabled RPC on the linked server it worked

MaximG
Devart Team
Posts: 1822
Joined: Mon 06 Jul 2015 11:34

Re: Error when trying to update Zoho

Post by MaximG » Mon 29 Nov 2021 15:47

Hi there, Thanks for your reply!

You are absolutely right. When using the EXEC operator, the RPC setting should be enabled, and if the query being executed returns data, then RPC Out should also be enabled.

Should you have any questions, do not hesitate to ask!

cshackleton
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed 24 Nov 2021 17:22

Re: Error when trying to update Zoho

Post by cshackleton » Mon 29 Nov 2021 16:09

Is there any way to get the "normal" update statements to work? I'm guessing I'm going to have to write scripts to use the EXEC commands if using MS Access or SSIS

MaximG
Devart Team
Posts: 1822
Joined: Mon 06 Jul 2015 11:34

Re: Error when trying to update Zoho

Post by MaximG » Mon 06 Dec 2021 11:35

Currently there's no way to overcome this restriction in Linked Server. We are investigating the possibility to execute regular update statements.

Post Reply