Page 2 of 2

Re: FireDAC + EntityDAC + DataSnap

Posted: Mon 15 Aug 2016 11:13
by AlexP
We have reproduced this behavior on the highest versions of RAD Studio and FireDAC. This code works on XE 5. We will investigate this behavior and let you know the results.

Re: FireDAC + EntityDAC + DataSnap

Posted: Tue 16 Aug 2016 07:34
by elion
I am using Delphi XE7 Update 1

Re: FireDAC + EntityDAC + DataSnap

Posted: Tue 16 Aug 2016 10:20
by AlexP
This behavior is due to a modification in FireDAC (starting from XE7). When setting the ConnectionDefName property first, and then - DriverName (similarly to the one specified in Connection Define), the driver name is not found in the TFDCustomConnection.SetDriverName method - and the set ConnectionDef is reset.

Code: Select all

FDConnection.ConnectionDefName := 'testMySQL';
FDConnection.DriverName := 'MySQL';// similarly to testMySQL Connection Define
ShowMessage(FDConnection.ConnectionDefName);//empty

Re: FireDAC + EntityDAC + DataSnap

Posted: Tue 16 Aug 2016 13:27
by elion
Hi Alex,

thank you for the info. I've reproduced it too. So, could you fix it in the EntityDAC? Or will it stay "buggy" in the XE7?

Best regards!

Re: FireDAC + EntityDAC + DataSnap

Posted: Tue 16 Aug 2016 13:46
by AlexP
We will try to avoid this behavior in our components, but you can also send a bugreport to embarcadero

Re: FireDAC + EntityDAC + DataSnap

Posted: Tue 16 Aug 2016 13:56
by elion
Okay, thx, it would be great if you could fix it.

Re: FireDAC + EntityDAC + DataSnap

Posted: Tue 16 Aug 2016 16:12
by elion
In the doc of FireDAC this behaviour is as designed. Please see http://docwiki.embarcadero.com/Librarie ... DriverName

Re: FireDAC + EntityDAC + DataSnap

Posted: Thu 18 Aug 2016 12:49
by elion
Hey Alex,

I don't want to be annoying... are there some news? I need this functionality ASAP. Thank you and sorry for the pressure!

Best regards!

Re: FireDAC + EntityDAC + DataSnap

Posted: Fri 19 Aug 2016 10:03
by AlexP
Currently, you can add the following changes to the EntityDAC.DataProvider.FireDAC file:
in the SetDialectName method add a check:
replace

Code: Select all

    if DialectName = UpperCase(SMySQLDialect) then
with

Code: Select all

    if (DialectName = UpperCase(SMySQLDialect)) and (FFDConnection.DriverName <> SFDDriverMySQL) 
then

Re: FireDAC + EntityDAC + DataSnap

Posted: Thu 22 Sep 2016 07:42
by elion
Hi Alex,

it still doesn't work. Is there any release planned for this year to fix the firedac coonection pooling problem? It would be great!

Best regards!

Re: FireDAC + EntityDAC + DataSnap

Posted: Fri 02 Dec 2016 13:41
by AlexP
We added the ConnectionDefName parameter in ConnectionString, now you do not have to set a dialect, it is enough to specify the ConnectionDef name.