EDMX won't Update

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for Cloud Applications
Post Reply
jappenzeller
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013 16:44

EDMX won't Update

Post by jappenzeller » Wed 11 Dec 2013 16:45

Refreshing the model doesn't seem to be working. The new fields are there in salesforce, I even tried remove the entire model and rebuilding and they still don't show up.

Shalex
Site Admin
Posts: 9543
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Re: EDMX won't Update

Post by Shalex » Thu 12 Dec 2013 11:58

You should call salesforceConnectionObject.Cache.RefreshMetadata() in the code to update the local cache after the database schema is changed via web interface.
An alternative way is to remove the C:\Users\YOUR_OS_USER_NAME\Application Data\*.db files. dotConnect for Salesforce will recreate them on the next salesforceConnectionObject.Open().

For more information about cache management, refer to http://www.devart.com/dotconnect/salesf ... Cache.html.

jappenzeller
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013 16:44

Re: EDMX won't Update

Post by jappenzeller » Wed 26 Feb 2014 20:42

I saw the latest version said a bug with update model from database was fixed. Is this the bug that was fixed? Because using the wizard still does not update the model.

Shalex
Site Admin
Posts: 9543
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Re: EDMX won't Update

Post by Shalex » Thu 27 Feb 2014 11:19

Shalex wrote:You should call salesforceConnectionObject.Cache.RefreshMetadata() in the code to update the local cache after the database schema is changed via web interface.
An alternative way is to remove the C:\Users\YOUR_OS_USER_NAME\Application Data\*.db files.
Did you perform these steps? If yes, give us a detailed description of the problem you have encountered again.
jappenzeller wrote:I saw the latest version said a bug with update model from database was fixed. Is this the bug that was fixed?
Please refer to http://www.devart.com/dotconnect/salesf ... story.html and specify the exact text of the fix you are asking question about.

jappenzeller
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013 16:44

Re: EDMX won't Update

Post by jappenzeller » Sat 01 Mar 2014 23:36

where is salesforceconnectionobject defined?
Edit: Just figured out you wanted me to instantiate a new connection object and call that method. That seems to have worked. So I need to do this every time I want to change my model?

I thought the update wizard was supposed to be fixed so we didn't have to do this anymore.

Shalex
Site Admin
Posts: 9543
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Re: EDMX won't Update

Post by Shalex » Tue 04 Mar 2014 17:17

You can use the "Refresh Metadata=true;" connection string parameter if the schema is changed: http://www.devart.com/dotconnect/salesf ... tring.html.
Be aware that refreshing metadata on each connection.Open() will lead to the performance loses.

Post Reply