Documentation with examples, reference manual

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding PgDAC (PostgreSQL Data Access Components) for Delphi, C++Builder, Lazarus (and FPC)
liebehenz

Documentation with examples, reference manual

Post by liebehenz » Wed 28 Oct 2009 11:40

Hello!

Has somebody an idea, where i can get an excellent documentation with examples about pg_query, pg_table, tfields and database-programming?

The documentation in delphi2009 is... uggly. No examples and else.

Currently i try -something "easy"- like "to copy one record from Database A, table B to Database B table b with same definition.
This costs much time and is very inefficient. try and error. And drives me crazy. That must be easier to go.

And I am not an beginner!

---
self.PgTable_mts.Append;

// for i := 0 to self.PgTable_mts.Fields.Count - 1 do begin
// if self.PgTable_mts.Fields.FieldName = 'be_seq' then begin
// // self.PgQuery2.SQL.Append('be_seq='+inttostr(sequence));
// end else
// self.PgTable_mts.Fields.Value := self.PgTable_tmp_mts.Fields.Value;
// end; //for
self.PgTable_mts.FieldByName('be_diag').Value := '1';

self.PgTable_mts.Post;

thank you for answering me.

Plash
Devart Team

Post by Plash » Thu 29 Oct 2009 08:11

There is no simple method to copy a record from one dataset to another. You should copy all fields values in a loop as you are doing.

If you need to copy the entire dataset to another database, you can use TPgLoader or TCRBatchMove components.

liebehenz

Post by liebehenz » Tue 03 Nov 2009 17:42

Yes.

But the greater problem was to FIND out that

Code: Select all

PgTable.ApplyUpdates;
was right and

Code: Select all

PgTable.Post 
was wrong.

Do you understood my problem? :oops:
I need some hint thought the 100 possible methods and properties.

thanks for answering me.

Plash
Devart Team

Post by Plash » Wed 04 Nov 2009 09:45