Make Generate Script As ask user for table name

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding database management and development tools for SQL Server
Post Reply
Thenrich
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun 21 Dec 2014 19:47

Make Generate Script As ask user for table name

Post by Thenrich » Wed 21 Nov 2018 00:53

When I execute a select query and get results and select Generate script as, it doesn't ask me what I want to name the table. It uses 'table' for table name. I have to then use search and replace all the instances to the table name I want.

alexa
Devart Team
Posts: 2688
Joined: Fri 24 Jun 2011 14:17

Re: Make Generate Script As ask user for table name

Post by alexa » Wed 21 Nov 2018 13:12

Could you please describe it in more detail and provide us the actual and expected results? Screenshots would be also of help.

Please note that you can generate a script for a specific table by right-clicking it in Database Explorer and selecting 'Generate Script As -> ...' from the popup menu.

You can send a reply straight to our support system at alexaATdevartDOTcom and supportATdevartDOTcom .

Thenrich
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun 21 Dec 2014 19:47

Re: Make Generate Script As ask user for table name

Post by Thenrich » Wed 21 Nov 2018 19:50

I want to generate scripts from the results grid. Not from a table in the object explorer.

In the results grid, highlight some columns and rows and select generate script as and select Insert. Does it ask you for a table name?

alexa
Devart Team
Posts: 2688
Joined: Fri 24 Jun 2011 14:17

Re: Make Generate Script As ask user for table name

Post by alexa » Fri 23 Nov 2018 12:23

Thank you for the reply.

We implement this in one of the next product versions.

Post Reply