Page 1 of 1

EF Core Template vs Scaffold-DbContext code generator

Posted: Thu 02 Mar 2017 06:14
by RobertK
https://www.devart.com/dotconnect/postg ... First.html
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/ef/cor ... -dbcontext

What's are the differences between Scaffold-DbContext and DevArt provided EF Core template?

Re: EF Core Template vs Scaffold-DbContext code generator

Posted: Thu 02 Mar 2017 13:21
by Shalex
Entity Developer (with the EF Core template) gives more functionality and flexibility, it allows:
1) setting up properties of EF Core template
2) editing EF Core template and adding other predefined templates
3) employing Update To Database / Update From Database wizards for modifying entire model (or only its part)

Re: EF Core Template vs Scaffold-DbContext code generator

Posted: Thu 02 Mar 2017 13:41
by RobertK
Got it!

BTW do you know if is there a guide on how do you use "Entity Developer"'s class models?

Re: EF Core Template vs Scaffold-DbContext code generator

Posted: Mon 06 Mar 2017 14:41
by Shalex
Please refer to Microsoft documentation which describes how to work with EF Core: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/ef/.

Re: EF Core Template vs Scaffold-DbContext code generator

Posted: Tue 07 Mar 2017 08:47
by RobertK
Shalex wrote:Please refer to Microsoft documentation which describes how to work with EF Core: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/ef/.
thanks

What is the best way/efficient way to create and test templates for entity developer?

Re: EF Core Template vs Scaffold-DbContext code generator

Posted: Tue 07 Mar 2017 18:04
by Shalex
RobertK wrote:What is the best way/efficient way to create and test templates for entity developer?
1. Entity Developer code generator system is based on its own object model. Its engine uses T4-like template language: https://www.devart.com/entitydeveloper/ ... ation.html.

2. Refer to https://www.devart.com/entitydeveloper/ ... eloper.chm (download, right click > Properties > Unblock), navigate to the "Template System Concepts" section.

3. You can use IntelliSense feature in our T4 Editor (completion list appears when you type the '.' character).