Page 1 of 1

How to change the schema that the model uses?

Posted: Tue 19 Jan 2016 00:12
by OutOfTouch6947
How do I change the schema that the model wants to use to create the tables?
I am not using PostgreSQL for this, I am using Linq to SQL with Entity Developer professional and I am attempting to do Model first, I want to change the schema that the Model wants in order to create the tables. Is there any step by step on how to do Model first with Entity Developer?

Re: How to change the schema that the model uses?

Posted: Tue 19 Jan 2016 11:16
by Shalex
You are working with PostgreSQL via Entity Framework, aren't you?

You can control the shema name used in two ways:
1. Open your model, navigate to Tools > Entity Developer > Database Explorer, right click connection > Edit and set the Schema connection string parameter.
2. Navigate to Tools > Entity Developer > Model Explorer > Store part > Tables/Views and modify the Schema property specified for the tables. JIC: you can select several tables holding CTRL or SHIFT and modify (or clear) the Schema property for all tables simultaneously.

Re: How to change the schema that the model uses?

Posted: Tue 19 Jan 2016 15:17
by OutOfTouch6947
Shalex wrote:You are working with PostgreSQL via Entity Framework, aren't you?

You can control the shema name used in two ways:
1. Open your model, navigate to Tools > Entity Developer > Database Explorer, right click connection > Edit and set the Schema connection string parameter.
2. Navigate to Tools > Entity Developer > Model Explorer > Store part > Tables/Views and modify the Schema property specified for the tables. JIC: you can select several tables holding CTRL or SHIFT and modify (or clear) the Schema property for all tables simultaneously.
No I am not, please see my updated question.

Re: How to change the schema that the model uses?

Posted: Tue 19 Jan 2016 16:35
by OutOfTouch6947
Shalex wrote:You are working with PostgreSQL via Entity Framework, aren't you?

You can control the shema name used in two ways:
1. Open your model, navigate to Tools > Entity Developer > Database Explorer, right click connection > Edit and set the Schema connection string parameter.
2. Navigate to Tools > Entity Developer > Model Explorer > Store part > Tables/Views and modify the Schema property specified for the tables. JIC: you can select several tables holding CTRL or SHIFT and modify (or clear) the Schema property for all tables simultaneously.
Ok I think I found it under Model Settings -> Mapping -> Target Schema.

Re: How to change the schema that the model uses?

Posted: Wed 20 Jan 2016 14:05
by MariiaI
OutOfTouch6947 wrote:Ok I think I found it under Model Settings -> Mapping -> Target Schema.
Glad to see that the issue was resolved. If you encounter any issues with it, feel free to contact us.