How add AllowEmptyStrings to the Required Data Annotation?

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding Entity Developer - ORM modeling and code generation tool
CodeSlinger

How add AllowEmptyStrings to the Required Data Annotation?

Post by CodeSlinger » Tue 02 Jun 2015 20:38

I am new to Entity Developer and am using the DbContext template, and have Validation Framework = Data Annotations set to add the Required attribute for non-nullable string fields for SQL Server via EF6.

I have run into a validation issue when I validate using mDbContext.GetValidationErrors() when trying to add new objects with empty strings after I asked Entity Developer to add the Required Message resulting in the Required Data Annotation. This is normal EF behaviour but I want to turn it off using AllowEmptyStrings.

1. What is the best way to add Required(AllowEmptyStrings=true) for all generated class properties?
2. What is the best way to add Required(AllowEmptyStrings=true) for only some classes and properties?

I was not able to search the forums for AllowEmptyStrings and Allow Empty Strings did not find anything.

Thanks, Dave

Shalex
Site Admin

Re: How add AllowEmptyStrings to the Required Data Annotation?

Post by Shalex » Wed 03 Jun 2015 13:21

Please navigate to Model > Settings > Attributes > select the C:\Program Files (x86)\Reference Assemblies\Microsoft\Framework\.NETFramework\v4.5.1\System.ComponentModel.DataAnnotations.dll assembly and make sure that the Required attribute is checked in the window below, press OK.
Then, select the Required attribute in the Attributes collection of each class property you want to apply the attribute to. The Attributes window also allows to set the attribute properties (like Allow Empty Strings).

CodeSlinger

Post by CodeSlinger » Fri 05 Jun 2015 14:10

A few more questions please -