Problem opening model views in Visual Studio 2013

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding Entity Developer - ORM modeling and code generation tool
Post Reply
billster6809
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon 27 Jan 2014 21:08

Problem opening model views in Visual Studio 2013

Post by billster6809 » Mon 07 Jul 2014 15:49

System:
Visual Studio 2013.2
Entity Developer 5.7.387

I have a model that contains 9 sub-views.

In Visual Studio, if I attempt to open any of those subviews, I get a strange error dialog:
"Value was either too large or too small for a UInt32".

I can open the same diagrams in the stand-alone Entity Developer application without any problem.

In case it is relevant, when I open the model in the stand-alone application, I do get this warning in the status bar:
"The 'EntityFramework.dll' assembly is not available, thus Entity Framework 5 validation is used instead of Entity Framework 6"

If necessary, I can provide the model.

MariiaI
Devart Team
Posts: 1472
Joined: Mon 13 Feb 2012 08:17

Re: Problem opening model views in Visual Studio 2013

Post by MariiaI » Thu 10 Jul 2014 05:48

In Visual Studio, if I attempt to open any of those subviews, I get a strange error dialog: "Value was either too large or too small for a UInt32".
Please send us your model, so that we are able to reproduce this issue and investigate it in more details.
"The 'EntityFramework.dll' assembly is not available, thus Entity Framework 5 validation is used instead of Entity Framework 6"
A similar question has been discussed here.

billster6809
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon 27 Jan 2014 21:08

Re: Problem opening model views in Visual Studio 2013

Post by billster6809 » Fri 11 Jul 2014 20:05

Preparing the email to report this, I also ran my solution on a 2nd computer. The issue did NOT show there. So I cleaned the solution on the problem solution, rebooted the computer and rebuilt, and the problem went away. So just transient, sorry to bring it up. I will perform these steps in the future for similar weird behavior.

Also, the solution you pointed me to about the EF6 warning worked for me too.

Issue resolved, thank you.

Post Reply