The specified metadata path is not valid

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding Entity Developer - ORM modeling and code generation tool
AndreyR
Devart Team
Posts: 2919
Joined: Mon 07 Jul 2008 13:16

Post by AndreyR » Fri 12 Feb 2010 14:27

We have not tested VS 2010 Release Candidate yet.
Are you able to modify the %Program Files%\MSBuild\v4.0\Custom.After.Microsoft.Common.targets file?
If so, just add the following lines to it, this should help.

Code: Select all


  


ed_frederick
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri 05 Feb 2010 14:35
Location: Knoxville, TN

This item already exists

Post by ed_frederick » Mon 15 Feb 2010 18:14

I went to the file you specified to modify and the project import node you mentioned already exists in this file. However, in the custom extensions path indicated in the node, there is no file with the name "Devart.Data.Entity.targets".

There is however in the ...\MSBuild\Devart\v4.0 a file named "Devart.Data.Entity.10.targets".

I have tried changing the Custom.After.Microsoft.Common.targets project import node to reference the file with the "10" in the name. If I do this Visual Studio locks up when I open any project with a devart model in it.

I have also tried copying from the v3.5 framework directory the Devart.Data.Entity.targets file and creating the copy in ...\MSBuild\Devart\v4.0 which would then create a valid reference in the Custom.After.Microsoft.Common.targets file. This has the same effect that will lock up Visual Studio.

I know don't claim any official support for the VS2010 RC, but any help is appreciated and perhaps we will be happy to provide any and all valuable feedback as we help test this scenario.

AndreyR
Devart Team
Posts: 2919
Joined: Mon 07 Jul 2008 13:16

Post by AndreyR » Tue 16 Feb 2010 12:23

Changes made to the MSBuild influence only the build process. The problem on the opening
should not be associated with it. We will investigate the issue.

lancelotti
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue 23 Feb 2010 18:28

Post by lancelotti » Thu 11 Mar 2010 19:52

I'm with the same problem... Windows XP or 7 -> Visual Web Developer 2010 Beta 2 -> dcoracle560pro

AndreyR
Devart Team
Posts: 2919
Joined: Mon 07 Jul 2008 13:16

Post by AndreyR » Fri 12 Mar 2010 12:31

Try to change the Metadata Artifact Processing property value to CopyToOutputAssembly.
If .csdl, .ssdl, and .msl files are not generated for model in VS integration mode, generate them using standalone Entity Developer.

lancelotti
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue 23 Feb 2010 18:28

Post by lancelotti » Wed 17 Mar 2010 00:49

AndreyR wrote:I have sent you a sample MVC project.
Can you send it to me too? I'm trying Visual Studio 2010 and MVC2, but I'm getting the same error and workaround doesn't work.

AndreyR
Devart Team
Posts: 2919
Joined: Mon 07 Jul 2008 13:16

Post by AndreyR » Thu 18 Mar 2010 11:21

I'm not sure MVC 1.0 application will be of any use for you.
Could you please send me a small test project illustrating the error instead?

AndreyR
Devart Team
Posts: 2919
Joined: Mon 07 Jul 2008 13:16

Post by AndreyR » Mon 29 Mar 2010 08:46

The problem with metadata generation is fixed. Look forward to the next build.

timmclaurin
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed 14 Apr 2010 18:56
Contact:

Post by timmclaurin » Wed 14 Apr 2010 19:03

Any word as to when the next release with this fixed will be out? Or is there a work around to for VS 2010 RC?

AndreyR
Devart Team
Posts: 2919
Joined: Mon 07 Jul 2008 13:16

Post by AndreyR » Fri 16 Apr 2010 12:38

Could you please upgrade to the latest xx.xx.124 build of dotConnect you are using?
If the problem persisits, please provide more details about the situation you've encountered the problem in. This topic contains information about several problems simultaneously, I'd like to know what particular situation have you run into.

idkomfs
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon 07 Nov 2016 14:19

Re: The specified metadata path is not valid

Post by idkomfs » Mon 05 Dec 2016 14:22

Can you please send me the mvc-code, too?
Thanks!

Shalex
Site Admin
Posts: 8247
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Re: The specified metadata path is not valid

Post by Shalex » Tue 06 Dec 2016 10:29

idkomfs wrote:Can you please send me the mvc-code, too?
Thanks!
We have answered you by email.

Post Reply