Fail in developing a plug in using Devart + ET [Oracle]

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding Entity Framework support in ADO.NET Data providers
downwind

Fail in developing a plug in using Devart + ET [Oracle]

Post by downwind » Tue 19 May 2015 15:50

Dear Ladies/Gentlemen
I'm new to Devart, so I apologize in case of errors or misunderstanding.
I'm developing a "plug-in" (a DLL ) in C# that will be loaded in an internal application.
Since of the architecture, I can't get access to App.config file and connection string should be built within the code.

My last try looks this way:

Code: Select all

private String getEntityConnectionString()
        {
            OracleConnectionStringBuilder oraCSB = new OracleConnectionStringBuilder();
            oraCSB.Direct = true;
            oraCSB.Server = "serverAddress";
            oraCSB.Port = 1521;
            oraCSB.Sid = "SID_DB";
            oraCSB.UserId = "USER";
            oraCSB.Password = "PASSWORD";

EntityConnectionStringBuilder builder = new EntityConnectionStringBuilder();
            builder.ProviderConnectionString = oraCSB.ConnectionString;
            builder.Metadata = "C:\\ConfigurationTest\\L2smp.csdl| C:\\ConfigurationTest\\L2smp.ssdl | C:\\ConfigurationTest\\L2smp.msl";
            builder.Provider = "Devart.Data.Oracle";

return builder.ConnectionString;
        }
Usage of this string in my plug in has been implemented like this:

String connectionString = getEntityConnectionString();
EntityConnection connection = null;
try
{
    connection = new EntityConnection(
}
catch (Exception e)
{
   /* Log and exit */
}
L3Core.Communication.DM.L2smp.L2smpModel context = new L3Core.Communication.DM.L2smp.L2smpModel(connectionString);

(L2smpModel is an ObjectContext)

Connection is successfully established; then at context creation I get the exception