How to define tablespaces via Code-First?

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding Entity Framework support in ADO.NET Data providers
Post Reply
nurhat.uca
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed 11 Feb 2015 13:44

How to define tablespaces via Code-First?

Post by nurhat.uca » Wed 11 Feb 2015 13:55

Thankfully, Devart supports defining tablespaces for both tables and indexes via customizing scaffolded migration scripts with using the following way;

Code: Select all

  CreateTable(
                "dbo.table",
                c => new
                {
                     ...,
                    anonymousArguments: new CreateTableConfiguration()
                    {
                        Tablespace = "MY_TABLE_SPACE"
                    })
But, customizing auto generated script is not the best approach(at least for my case) , I want to know whether it is possible to define such configurations with using code first approach or not?

Regards,

Shalex
Site Admin
Posts: 9543
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Re: How to define tablespaces via Code-First?

Post by Shalex » Fri 13 Feb 2015 14:02

There is no way to specify a tablespace using Code-First Approach at the moment. We will investigate the question and notify you about the result.

Please specify the name of the dotConnect product you are working with.

Shalex
Site Admin
Posts: 9543
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Re: How to define tablespaces via Code-First?

Post by Shalex » Thu 05 Mar 2015 14:19

The config.DatabaseScript.Table.Tablespace configuration option is added to specify the tablespace for tables created via the Code-First approach. We will notify you when the corresponding build of dotConnect for Oracle is available for download.

Shalex
Site Admin
Posts: 9543
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Re: How to define tablespaces via Code-First?

Post by Shalex » Thu 26 Mar 2015 17:12

New build of dotConnect for Oracle 8.4.379 is available for download!
It can be downloaded from http://www.devart.com/dotconnect/oracle/download.html (trial version) or from Registered Users' Area (for users with active subscription only).
For more information, please refer to http://forums.devart.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=31498.

nurhat.uca
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed 11 Feb 2015 13:44

Re: How to define tablespaces via Code-First?

Post by nurhat.uca » Tue 31 Mar 2015 13:20

Appreciated for the quick implementation of that feature. I just downloaded and tried the solution, it works like a charm. Additionally, I think it will be better if you provide tablespace configurations also for index & long column types(CLOB,BLOB, etc) as you already implemented it for DB2( see the link below).

https://www.devart.com/dotconnect/db2/d ... ation.html

TableTablespace - set the name of the tablespace for the created tables.
IndexTablespace - set the name of the tablespace for the created indexes.
LongTablespace - set the name of the tablespace for the long columns. They include the columns with LOB data types, XML type, distinct types with any of these as source types, or any columns defined with user-defined structured types whose values cannot be stored inline.


Best Regards,
Nurhat

Shalex
Site Admin
Posts: 9543
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Re: How to define tablespaces via Code-First?

Post by Shalex » Wed 01 Apr 2015 14:24

Thank you for your suggestion. We will invetigate the question and notify you about the result.

Shalex
Site Admin
Posts: 9543
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Re: How to define tablespaces via Code-First?

Post by Shalex » Tue 05 May 2015 07:05

The config.DatabaseScript.Index.Tablespace configuration option is added to specify the tablespace for indexes created via the Code-First approach. We will notify you when the corresponding build of dotConnect for Oracle is available for download.

Shalex
Site Admin
Posts: 9543
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Re: How to define tablespaces via Code-First?

Post by Shalex » Thu 07 May 2015 13:11

The new build of dotConnect for Oracle 8.4.407 is available for download now: http://forums.devart.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=31743. Please try it and notify us about the result.

Post Reply