Missing assemblies for Entity Developer

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding Entity Framework support in ADO.NET Data providers
Post Reply
luc.dobler
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu 24 Mar 2011 08:41

Missing assemblies for Entity Developer

Post by luc.dobler » Mon 29 Aug 2011 11:02

Hi,

I downloaded the last version of dotConnect for Oracle 6.3.22 and when I try to open a model or create a new one using the Entity Developer I got an exception saying that the assembly Devart.Data, version 5.0.302.0 could not be loaded.

When I check for this assembly in my GAC I have the assembly with another version name 5.0.304.0.

I tried to specifically download and install the Entity Developer v. 4.0.30 but it did not resolve the problem.

Do you have a DLL repository where I can find this assembly with this particular version ?

I would like to install a former version, but I can't install another version without uninstalling the current version.

Any help is appreciated,
Kind Regards,
Luc

Shalex
Site Admin
Posts: 8247
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Post by Shalex » Thu 01 Sep 2011 07:31

Please reinstall dotConnect for Oracle v 6.30.202:
- uninstall dotConnect for Oracle (run uninstall tool with the "As Administrator" option for Windows 7);
- clear the Program Files\Devart\dotConnect, Program Files\Common Files\Devart, and \Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\Common7\IDE\PrivateAssemblies\Devart\ folders;
- clear the bin and obj folders of your project;
- delete all Devart.* and policy.*.Devart.* files from the GAC;
- reinstall dotConnect for Oracle (run installation with the "As Administrator" option for Windows 7);
- rebuild your project.

Notify us about the results.

luc.dobler
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu 24 Mar 2011 08:41

Post by luc.dobler » Tue 06 Sep 2011 10:55

Hi Shalex,

I uninstalled all the components from the GAC and cleaned up everything but the local devart dll I needed.

I'm going to reinstall the entity developer soon and give you feedback in this thread. I actually forgot to mention that this issue happens on a Win7 64 bits machine.

update to come soon.
THanks a lot for the support !

Luc

Post Reply