Trying to figure out an error

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for PostgreSQL
duelingcats

Trying to figure out an error

Post by duelingcats » Sat 14 Jul 2012 19:18

Hello, I am trying to figure out why I am getting this error when I try to publish my model to my database. I am pretty new to the whole ORM idea, so you may have to explain some obvious mistake I have made.

The error I am getting is as follows:
An error occurred during creating constraint in storage model. Referential constraint property 'PersonID' association 'Instructor_Assignment' is not mapped to any column in storage table 'Employees'.
Here is my model
http://i.imgur.com/8rom4.png

I assumed that since I was inheriting from my Person class, it could use the PersonID from that class.

Shalex
Site Admin

Re: Trying to figure out an error

Post by Shalex » Mon 16 Jul 2012 12:44

Could you please send us your model so that we can reproduce the issue in our environment?

duelingcats

Post by duelingcats » Thu 19 Jul 2012 11:45

I eventually got it working, thanks though. Would you be able to tell me how I would be able to setup a serial column on a postgresql database and have my generated code not be concerned with inserting a integer for that column since it will be auto generated. Would I be able to have that integer return back so that my object is in sync?

Also, I am trying to do a many to many relationship, but can't figure out how to do it in the modeler. I would recommend adding some more documentation. Anyway, could you tell me what these column fields are for? I am trying to make a many to many relationship of student to class using attending as the linking table.

MariiaI
Devart Team

Post by MariiaI » Fri 27 Jul 2012 10:31

Sorry for the delay. According to the latter screenshot you are using LinqConnect. Please confirm this and specify whether you need the same information about using Entity Framework.