Access Firebird remotely

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding IBDAC (InterBase Data Access Components) for Delphi, C++Builder, Lazarus (and FPC)
Post Reply
JacobusOpperman
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun 24 Feb 2019 21:48

Access Firebird remotely

Post by JacobusOpperman » Sun 24 Feb 2019 22:18

Hi!
I am trying to access my firebird database file 'ABC.FDB' remotely. I have uploaded ABC.FDB to my domain 'www.alcatrazchess.com'.

With IBCConnection1.Database := '//www.alcatrazchess.com/ABC.FDB' I get the following error message:
'Unable to complete network request to host "www.alcatrazchess.com". Failed to establish a connection. The network path was not found.'

With IBCConnection1.Database := '//www.alcatrazchess.com:ABC.FDB' I get the following error message:
'I/O error during "CreateFile(open)" operation for file "ABC.FDB". Error while trying to open file. The system cannot find the file spesified.'

In both cases IBCConnection1.Server := ''; (*No server was spesified*)

I use Delphi Rio Community with IBDAC 6.3.10.

What am I doing wrong? What should IBCConnection1.Database be? Your help will be much appreciated
Thank you - I am looking eagerly forward to your responses!

ViktorV
Devart Team
Posts: 3168
Joined: Wed 30 Jul 2014 07:16

Re: Access Firebird remotely

Post by ViktorV » Mon 25 Feb 2019 09:20

To connect to the Firebird server, you need to set the correct values for the following properties:
- in IBCConnection.Server, specify the IP address or host name of the machine, on which the Firebird server is running. For example: 'alcatrazchess.com';
- in IBCConnection.Port, specify the port of the Firebird server. For example: 3050 - default Firebird port;
- in IBCConnection.Database, specify a path to the database. Note that the path to the database is the full local path to the database on the machine, on which Firebird is running. For example: c:\DBFB\abc.fdb

JacobusOpperman
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun 24 Feb 2019 21:48

Re: Access Firebird remotely

Post by JacobusOpperman » Mon 25 Feb 2019 16:02

Thank you ViktorV for your reply - you clarified a lot of things! I set the properties the way you suggested. I believe the problem now is with my hosting provider. Fortunately I found another hosting provider who specialises in Firebird.
Thank you!

ViktorV
Devart Team
Posts: 3168
Joined: Wed 30 Jul 2014 07:16

Re: Access Firebird remotely

Post by ViktorV » Tue 26 Feb 2019 07:45

It is good to see that the problem has been solved.
Feel free to contact us if you have any further questions about our products.

Post Reply