Intellisense/Autocomplete for functions and procedures no longer working

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding database management and administration tools for MySQL
Post Reply
mconradie
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu 12 Jul 2018 08:56

Intellisense/Autocomplete for functions and procedures no longer working

Post by mconradie » Tue 28 Jun 2022 10:01

Hi

Since updating to version 9.0.897 (Express Edition), custom functions and procedures are no longer suggested in the autocomplete/intellisense list
Image

Yet the following returns multiple results:
select * from mysql.proc where name like '%getarea%'
Image

I did refresh the local cache to no avail.

Has this feature been removed from the Express Edition or is this a bug? We would love to purchase a more feature rich edition but the prices are prohibitive for most developers in 3rd world nations.

Thanks in advance and thank you for a great product.
Last edited by mconradie on Tue 05 Jul 2022 07:23, edited 1 time in total.

dzhanhira
Devart Team
Posts: 239
Joined: Mon 26 Oct 2020 13:49

Re: Intellisense/Autocomplete for functions and procedures no longer working

Post by dzhanhira » Fri 01 Jul 2022 07:00

Hi,

Could you please clarify the version of the server, on which OS it is deployed, and the value of the lower_case_table_names variable?

mconradie
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu 12 Jul 2018 08:56

Re: Intellisense/Autocomplete for functions and procedures no longer working

Post by mconradie » Mon 04 Jul 2022 13:23

Thanks for getting back to me.

We're running many instances of MySQL 5.7. It seems to be working on Windows boxes (Windows Server 2008 R2 and MySQL 5.7.16) and not working on Linux boxes (CentOS7 and MySQL 5.7.33).

lower_case_table_names is set to 1
Last edited by mconradie on Tue 05 Jul 2022 09:33, edited 1 time in total.

andrer
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue 05 Jul 2022 08:57

Re: Intellisense/Autocomplete for functions and procedures no longer working

Post by andrer » Tue 05 Jul 2022 09:33

I've noticed the same issue since upgrading.

Enabling the Tools -> Options -> Output -> Write queries sent by the program to the SQL Log option allowed me to see the queries being run to get the autocomplete texts when I select the Edit -> Code Completion -> Refresh Local Cache menu option.

On an older version of dbForge (Express 8.2.23) I see this query:
SELECT p.name
, p.type
, p.param_list
, p.returns
, p.comment
FROM mysql.proc AS p
WHERE p.db = 'Axxxxxxx' OR p.db = lower('Axxxxxxx')
ORDER BY p.name;

But on the new version of dbForge (Express 9.0.897) I see this query:
SELECT p.name
, p.type
, p.param_list
, p.returns
, p.comment
FROM mysql.proc AS p
WHERE p.db = 'Axxxxxxx'
ORDER BY p.name;

Looking at the mysql.proc table I see everything in the db field starts with a lower case character 'axxxxxxx' even though a "SHOW DATABASES" shows this database name starting with an upper case character.

It looks like the issue is that the query to get the list of functions from mysql.proc is case sensitive as the lower case conversion part has been removed for some reason.

dzhanhira
Devart Team
Posts: 239
Joined: Mon 26 Oct 2020 13:49

Re: Intellisense/Autocomplete for functions and procedures no longer working

Post by dzhanhira » Fri 08 Jul 2022 11:46

Hi,

Kindly be informed that we are going to fix this issue in one of the next releases.

andrer
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue 05 Jul 2022 08:57

Re: Intellisense/Autocomplete for functions and procedures no longer working

Post by andrer » Tue 12 Jul 2022 06:13

Awesome news. Thank you so much.
dzhanhira wrote: Fri 08 Jul 2022 11:46 Hi,

Kindly be informed that we are going to fix this issue in one of the next releases.

mconradie
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu 12 Jul 2018 08:56

Re: Intellisense/Autocomplete for functions and procedures no longer working

Post by mconradie » Mon 18 Jul 2022 07:55

Thank you - much appreciated :)
dzhanhira wrote: Fri 08 Jul 2022 11:46 Kindly be informed that we are going to fix this issue in one of the next releases.

dzhanhira
Devart Team
Posts: 239
Joined: Mon 26 Oct 2020 13:49

Re: Intellisense/Autocomplete for functions and procedures no longer working

Post by dzhanhira » Mon 18 Jul 2022 17:11

Hi there,

Kindly be informed that we have prepared a special custom build with the fix for you:

https://download.devart.com/dbForge/MyS ... _12195.exe

Once it's installed, please let us know about the result.

mconradie
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu 12 Jul 2018 08:56

Re: Intellisense/Autocomplete for functions and procedures no longer working

Post by mconradie » Tue 19 Jul 2022 06:11

Thank you for the custom build - I feel special :) It works 🥳

Aus
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu 21 Jul 2022 19:03

Re: Intellisense/Autocomplete for functions and procedures no longer working

Post by Aus » Thu 21 Jul 2022 19:05

Thank you for your interest.

andrer
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue 05 Jul 2022 08:57

Re: Intellisense/Autocomplete for functions and procedures no longer working

Post by andrer » Fri 22 Jul 2022 06:34

Yay. It's working!

Thank you very much for the custom build. I've installed it and my function autocomplete is working again.

Post Reply