[BUG] v4.0.281 -Auto-aliases with quotation / Авто-алиасы с кавычками

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding database management and development tools for Oracle
Post Reply
notricky
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed 03 Aug 2016 23:43

[BUG] v4.0.281 -Auto-aliases with quotation / Авто-алиасы с кавычками

Post by notricky » Sun 16 Dec 2018 17:55

RUSSIAN
----
Привет.
Начиная с 4 версии стали появляться кавычки у алиасов таблиц. Это крайне раздражает, потому что требует дополнительных действий.
Мало того, это не отключается никак.
Под "никак" - я подразумеваю - никак. Есть три варианта выбора в "Квотирование идентификаторов" - и ни один не оказывает никакого влияния.

Пример
SELECT * FROM TABLE_X "tx"

Зачем сломали и как починить?

-------
ENGLISH
-------
Hi!
Since 4th version a quotes have been appeared along with the aliases for tables. This is really distubing, because additional moves are required now.
And there is no way to turn it off.
By "no way" I mean - "no way at all". There are three choices in "Quote identifiers" setup. but none of it makes sense.

Example
SELECT * FROM TABLE_X "tx"

Why did you ruin that and how to fix it?

alexa
Devart Team
Posts: 2688
Joined: Fri 24 Jun 2011 14:17

Re: [BUG] v4.0.281 -Auto-aliases with quotation / Авто-алиасы с кавычками

Post by alexa » Mon 17 Dec 2018 09:56

We implemented such a behavior in dbForge in accordance with Oracle, where, if alias is not enclosed in double quotes, Oracle server itself makes it upper case.

So, if you need the alias to be kept in lower case, you need to enclose it in double quotes.

notricky
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed 03 Aug 2016 23:43

Re: [BUG] v4.0.281 -Auto-aliases with quotation / Авто-алиасы с кавычками

Post by notricky » Mon 17 Dec 2018 10:38

Oracle forces developers to use the double quotes or this is by needs and occasions and in a free way?

I don't want the alias to be in double quotes, when it is auto-generated by code-completion.
How do I prevent this?

PS: It's not about lower or upper case.

alexa
Devart Team
Posts: 2688
Joined: Fri 24 Jun 2011 14:17

Re: [BUG] v4.0.281 -Auto-aliases with quotation / Авто-алиасы с кавычками

Post by alexa » Mon 17 Dec 2018 15:46

You could try selecting the 'Generate aliases in UPPER case' option (select 'SQL Complete -> Options...', navigate to the 'Alias' section).

notricky
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed 03 Aug 2016 23:43

Re: [BUG] v4.0.281 -Auto-aliases with quotation / Авто-алиасы с кавычками

Post by notricky » Mon 17 Dec 2018 21:38

alexa wrote:
Mon 17 Dec 2018 15:46
You could try selecting the 'Generate aliases in UPPER case' option (select 'SQL Complete -> Options...', navigate to the 'Alias' section).
Yes, this does the trick, but still I wish to use lower case. Is that possible to impelement?

alexa
Devart Team
Posts: 2688
Joined: Fri 24 Jun 2011 14:17

Re: [BUG] v4.0.281 -Auto-aliases with quotation / Авто-алиасы с кавычками

Post by alexa » Tue 18 Dec 2018 11:37

Thank you for the reply.

We will reconsider this behavior when developing the next product versions.

notricky
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed 03 Aug 2016 23:43

Re: [BUG] v4.0.281 -Auto-aliases with quotation / Авто-алиасы с кавычками

Post by notricky » Tue 18 Dec 2018 17:15

alexa wrote:
Tue 18 Dec 2018 11:37
Thank you for the reply.

We will reconsider this behavior when developing the next product versions.
Thanks.
Plese mention, that 3.x versions had this behavior already implemented, and it was cut in 4.x versions.

alexa
Devart Team
Posts: 2688
Joined: Fri 24 Jun 2011 14:17

Re: [BUG] v4.0.281 -Auto-aliases with quotation / Авто-алиасы с кавычками

Post by alexa » Fri 28 Dec 2018 11:45

Thank you for letting us know this.

We will take this into account.

Post Reply