Unique Constraint Bug?

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding database management and development tools for Oracle
Post Reply
RobIntechnica
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue 09 Feb 2010 11:42
Location: Manchester, UK

Unique Constraint Bug?

Post by RobIntechnica » Fri 19 Feb 2010 15:56

Hi

If you're inserting data using the OraDeveloper Tools to Append a row, but the PK is generated on the server using a trigger (e.g. supplied from a sequence), you get the following error if you haven't refreshed the table since the last insert:-

Column 'ID' is constrained to be unique. Value '' is already present.

Yes the value of the new column is NULL because it was left blank, but it won't violate the constraint as the trigger will guard against this.

Thanks

.jp
Devart Team
Posts: 306
Joined: Wed 09 Sep 2009 06:55
Location: devart

Post by .jp » Tue 23 Feb 2010 10:35

Sorry for the delay.
Yes, this is a bug and we have already reproduced it.
Please wait for a new build with the fix.

.jp
Devart Team
Posts: 306
Joined: Wed 09 Sep 2009 06:55
Location: devart

Post by .jp » Tue 02 Mar 2010 16:57

This bug is already fixed.
Please download the recent version of OraDeveloper Tools.

RobIntechnica
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue 09 Feb 2010 11:42
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by RobIntechnica » Fri 28 May 2010 09:58

.jp wrote:This bug is already fixed.
Please download the recent version of OraDeveloper Tools.
Hi

I still get this with 2.55.168. Is the fix present in this version?

Also, I get an error that a DATE column cannot be null, even though this is set to a default of SYSDATE in DDL.

Thanks

Viktor
Devart Team
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu 06 May 2010 08:12

Post by Viktor » Mon 31 May 2010 07:49

RobIntechnica wrote: I still get this with 2.55.168. Is the fix present in this version?
Thanks
Turn the paginal mode off.
This error still occurs if the paginal mode turned on. The fix of the error will be included in the future versions.
Also, I get an error that a DATE column cannot be null, even though this is set to a default of SYSDATE in DDL.
Yes, this is a bug. Fix of the error will be included in the future versions.

Post Reply