Help with embedding MySql into C# .net windows App

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for MySQL
jacobds

Help with embedding MySql into C# .net windows App

Post by jacobds » Thu 11 Nov 2004 21:43

I am fairly new to c# as most of my background is in Java. But I have the task of embedding mySql 4.1.7 into a c# windows app. It seems that all of the information on the web assumes a bit of higher knowledge than I have about embedding. If you find the time, could you explain a little bit about specifically how to embed mySql into a c# program. Also I am aware that there needs to be some sort of c++ go between. I would also need some help getting an embedded mySql. I think the file is something like libmysqld. Any help would be nice.

Thanks

Oleg
Devart Team

Re: Help with embedding MySql into C# .net windows App

Post by Oleg » Fri 12 Nov 2004 14:25

You can find a detailed instruction how to use MySQL Embedded Server in MySQLDirect .NET documentation.

jacobds

Post by jacobds » Fri 12 Nov 2004 16:04

Thanks, this seems very helpful. However I am having trouble getting the libmysqld compiled as I don't have 6.0, only .NET and I am unable to follow the instructions for the changes to be made in .NET. Are there insturctions for how to compile the dll in .NET, or is there a way that you could simply send me the recompiled libmysqld.dll?

Thanks,

Jacob

Oleg
Devart Team

Post by Oleg » Mon 15 Nov 2004 15:33

Please contact us at mysqlnet support email and we'll send you libmysqld.dll that MySQLDirect .NET works with.

jacobds

Post by jacobds » Tue 16 Nov 2004 20:26