Problems with connection at SQLCommand in VB2008 Express

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for MySQL
Bernd

Problems with connection at SQLCommand in VB2008 Express

Post by Bernd » Mon 16 May 2011 14:36

Hello,
I'm new in dotConnect.
I'm programming with Visual Basic 2008 Express Edition.
I've downloaded and installed dotConnect 6.1 Professional.
Here my Problem:
First I added an MySQLConnection to my Form, then I added an MySQLCommand.
When I try to open the pulldown-menu to select the connection in the Settings of of the MySQLCommand in VB I would get an Error-Message called 'Die Datei oder Assembly "Microsoft.VisualStudio.Data, Version=8.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b03f5f7f11d50a3a" oder eine Abhängigkeit davon wurde nicht gefunden. Die gefundene Manifestdefinition der Assembly stimmt nicht mit dem Assemblyverweis überein. (Ausnahme von HRESULT:0x80131040)'.
The Connection will be established correct and licencing is without Errors. With the free Version (Express) of dotConnect this Error won't come and it works.
Any ideas?

Regards
Bernd

Shalex
Site Admin

Post by Shalex » Tue 17 May 2011 15:04

Please add the following entries to the section of the %ProgramFiles%\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\Common7\IDE\VBExpress.exe.config file:

Code: Select all

Notify us about the results.

Bernd

Post by Bernd » Tue 17 May 2011 16:15

Thank you Shalex, this worked.

Now I have the next problem.
I added a MySqlDataSet to my form and in the dataexplorer it shows me all tables named as System.Byte[].
I did uninstall dotconnect, clear GAC and the devart folder and reinstall as mentioned in a previous thread.
My dotconnect Version is 6.10.141.0, Version of MySQL-Server is 4.1.16,
Character set is UTF-8 Unicode (utf8), VisualBasic Version 9.0.30729.1 SP

Bernd

Shalex
Site Admin

Post by Shalex » Wed 18 May 2011 12:18

Please refer to http://www.devart.com/dotconnect/mysql/ ... ility.html: