Character Set

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for MySQL
Post Reply
Zero-G.
Posts: 398
Joined: Sat 09 Dec 2006 12:20

Character Set

Post by Zero-G. » Thu 01 Apr 2010 12:44

Hey

I have to use latin1_german1_ci as character set from client side. - But this is not supported in your list. - I just can use latin1

Is there any information about this?

THX

AndreyR
Devart Team
Posts: 2919
Joined: Mon 07 Jul 2008 13:16

Post by AndreyR » Fri 02 Apr 2010 10:47

I have moved the topic to the dotConnect for MySQL forum.

Zero-G.
Posts: 398
Joined: Sat 09 Dec 2006 12:20

Post by Zero-G. » Fri 02 Apr 2010 13:08

Thank you

OK, I made a litte mistake!
The character set "latin1" is correct. - But what seems to be a problem is the collation character. - This I can't set explicit. - I need "latin1_german1_ci" and this I can't set.

THX

Shalex
Site Admin
Posts: 9543
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Post by Shalex » Fri 02 Apr 2010 13:36

There is no particular property for collation. Please set the collation for the current session by executing the SQL statement via the command.

Zero-G.
Posts: 398
Joined: Sat 09 Dec 2006 12:20

Post by Zero-G. » Fri 02 Apr 2010 13:47

Hey

Here is the problem @all (and that was the reason for the Linq forum...)
In LinQ I can't set this by code!

THX

AndreyR
Devart Team
Posts: 2919
Joined: Mon 07 Jul 2008 13:16

Post by AndreyR » Fri 02 Apr 2010 14:08

You can. Just call the ExecuteCommand method:

Code: Select all

dataContext.ExecuteCommand("SET NAMES 'latin1' COLLATE 'latin1_german2_ci'")

Post Reply