Dataset error when upgrading from version 3.5 to 4

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for MySQL
DAV
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue 31 Jul 2007 05:17
Location: Switzerland

Dataset error when upgrading from version 3.5 to 4

Post by DAV » Tue 31 Jul 2007 05:33

hi,

I have upgraded my project from version 3.5 to 4.
I remove all tableAdapters from the dataset and forms, remove the Corelab reference and add the 2 new dll from corelab.

But when I change the custom tool property to MySqlDataSetGenerator, I get an error on the dataset.designer
The error is "sub 'CreateColumns' couldn't be 'Overrides', because it's not a member of the base class" on the folllowing declaration

_
Protected Overrides Sub CreateColumns()
End Sub

CreateColumns is a member of DbDataTable but a boolean parameters has to be passed to this sub. "CreateColumns(byval value as Boolean)"

I have tested to creat a new project and add a new dataset but I receive the same error.

I use Visual Studio 2005 (Visual Basic) and Corelab 4.0.13

Thanks for your help

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Tue 31 Jul 2007 06:52

How did you create new dataset?

DAV
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue 31 Jul 2007 05:17
Location: Switzerland

Post by DAV » Tue 31 Jul 2007 07:07

I use Corelab Dataset Wizard.

The new dataset generated contains Tableadapter but the custom tool is set to MySQLDataSetGenerator...???

Do I have somewhere an reference that is not correctly installed or corrupted?

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Tue 31 Jul 2007 07:38

If you use Core Lab Dataset Wizard, MySQLDataSetGenerator is set by default, but you said that you changed this manually. Please clarify.

DAV
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue 31 Jul 2007 05:17
Location: Switzerland

Post by DAV » Tue 31 Jul 2007 08:16

On my project, I have changed the custom tool property because I used Corelab V3.55.
But I tested to create a new test project and start directly with v4.0. In this test project, so when I use Dataset wizard, the custom property is set to MySQLDataSetGenerator.

I have searched where CreateColumns sub is used in my references, I found it in 3 references.

-Corelab.Common.DbDataTable.CreateColumns(Boolean)
-Corelab.Common.DbLoader.CreateColumns()
-Corelab.MySQL.MySQLLoader.CreateColumns()

The problem seems to come from the reference Corelab.Common.DbDataTable.CreateColumns(Boolean) wich uses a Boolean parameter ?

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Tue 31 Jul 2007 08:39

I have tested to creat a new project and add a new dataset but I receive the same error.
On which step of our wizard do you receive the error?

DAV
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue 31 Jul 2007 05:17
Location: Switzerland

Post by DAV » Tue 31 Jul 2007 08:53

At the end of the wizard, when the dataset is created.

If I open the DataSet1.Designer.vb and insert a Boolean parameter to the sub CreateColumns, the error is cleared! But of course, it will appear again each time I execute the custom tool.

This declaration is working
Protected Overrides Sub CreateColumns(byval value as boolean)

Endd sub

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Tue 31 Jul 2007 10:03

Make sure that there is no old assemblies on your system. Try to debug dataset configuration process and see what assemblies are being loaded.

DAV
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue 31 Jul 2007 05:17
Location: Switzerland

Post by DAV » Tue 31 Jul 2007 13:53

I have removed corelab components, and remove all references and reinstall again but the error appears again.

On my computer, after installed the last version of corelab MySqlDirect (v 4.0.13.0), I have the following versions
CoreLab.Data version 4.0.11.0
CoreLab.MySql version 4.0.13.0


I just tested to re-install an old version of corelab components, I have no error for the following versions!
CoreLab.Data version 4.0.8.0
CoreLab.MySql version 4.0.9.0

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Wed 01 Aug 2007 07:34

Please chack that CoreLab.Data.Design and CoreLab.MySql.Design assemblies have the same versions as CoreLab.Data and CoreLab.MySql ones.
Try to debug using another instance of VS IDE to see what assemblies are loaded.

DAV
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue 31 Jul 2007 05:17
Location: Switzerland

Post by DAV » Thu 02 Aug 2007 06:49

CoreLab.Data.Design and CoreLab.MySql.Design assemblies have the same versions as CoreLab.Data and CoreLab.MySql. Assemblies loaded are also correct!

The problem is that with version 4.0.13 a boolean parameters is requested for this sub

Protected Overridable Sub CreateColumns(ByVal throwOnEmptySchemaTable As Boolean)
Member of : CoreLab.Common.DbDataTable

but with version 4.0.8, no parameter is needed
Protected Overridable Sub CreateColumns()
Member of : CoreLab.Common.DbDataTable

Do you know why using version 4.0.13 the Sub CreateColumns use the parameter throwOnEmptySchemaTable ?

Because other subs CreateColumns don't use Boolean parameters

CoreLab.Common.DbLoader.CreateColumns()
CoreLab.MySql.MySqlLoader.CreateColumns()

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Thu 02 Aug 2007 16:00

We are investigating this carefully. You will be notified on results as soon as possible.

DAV
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue 31 Jul 2007 05:17
Location: Switzerland

Post by DAV » Fri 10 Aug 2007 08:02

Hi Alexey,

Do you have any news about this problem?

Best regards

Damien

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Fri 10 Aug 2007 15:42

Not yet.
But we are working on the problem.

Serious

Post by Serious » Mon 13 Aug 2007 14:37

We have fixed this problem for the MySQLDirect .NET.

Look forward for the next build.

Post Reply