Default values for parameters when obtaining procedure metadata

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for Oracle
Post Reply
Kevat
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue 28 Jun 2016 19:38

Default values for parameters when obtaining procedure metadata

Post by Kevat » Tue 28 Jun 2016 19:45

We have a procedure which accepts multiple parameters. However, no initial values for the parameters are specified. When dotConnect maps this procedure, it returns "void" instead of creating a class for the expected result.

I am assuming that dotConnect calls this procedure with some default values for each parameter. The default values passed in cause the procedure to throw an error and does not return sys_refcursor as it should. This is why it is mapped as "void" instead of a class representing the results.

My questions:

1. What are the default parameter values that dotConnect uses to get the metadata for a procedure?
2. How can I change the values used for the parameters when getting the metadata for a procedure?

- Kevat

Shalex
Site Admin
Posts: 8368
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Re: Default values for parameters when obtaining procedure metadata

Post by Shalex » Mon 04 Jul 2016 13:22

Kevat wrote:1. What are the default parameter values that dotConnect uses to get the metadata for a procedure?
Entity Developer uses DB NULL values of parameters when tries to get the metadata for a procedure.
Kevat wrote:2. How can I change the values used for the parameters when getting the metadata for a procedure?
The current implementation of Entity Developer doesn't allow to set values of parameters for getting metadata. We will notify you when the corresponding functionality is implemented.

There are the following temporary workarounds:
1) create the complex type in the model manually
2) if you have an access to the database, create a temporary duplicated stored procedure which doesn't require values for input parameters, add it to your model to generate the needed complex type, then assign this complex type to your original stored procedure
3) try executing your original stored procedure via Model Explorer > right click Stored Procedures > Add > New Procedure for getting metadata

Shalex
Site Admin
Posts: 8368
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Re: Default values for parameters when obtaining procedure metadata

Post by Shalex » Thu 07 Jul 2016 17:00

The possibility to set values of stored procedure parameters for getting metadata to generate automatically the corresponding complex type is implemented in the newest (9.1.55) build of dotConnect for Oracle: viewtopic.php?f=1&t=33944.

Kevat
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue 28 Jun 2016 19:38

Re: Default values for parameters when obtaining procedure metadata

Post by Kevat » Fri 29 Jul 2016 17:21

Thank you! That was extremely helpful.

Post Reply