I have problems to open a new connection

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for Oracle
Post Reply
vslm
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri 07 Aug 2015 18:09

I have problems to open a new connection

Post by vslm » Fri 07 Aug 2015 18:34

Hello,

I am developing an application for a Honeywell mobile computer. I try to open a new Oracle database connection, but when I try to do it, I get the following exception:

"Server did not respond within the specified timeout interval".

I do not know if it has something to do with my problem, but when I check the ConnectionTimeout property of my OracleConnection object, the value is 15.

This is the code:

Code: Select all


  Private _Conexion As OracleConnection

 Public Sub Conectar(ByVal pUserName As String, ByVal pPassword As String, ByVal pPort As Integer, ByVal pHost As String, ByVal pDataBase As String)
        _Conexion.ConnectionString = String.Empty
        _Conexion.ConnectionString = ""
        _Conexion.UserId = pUserName
        _Conexion.Password = pPassword
        _Conexion.Port = pPort
        _Conexion.Server = pHost
        _Conexion.Sid = pDataBase

        _Conexion.Open()
    End Sub
Thanks in advance.

vslm
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri 07 Aug 2015 18:09

Re: I have problems to open a new connection

Post by vslm » Fri 07 Aug 2015 19:42

I could fix the problem but now I get a new one:

"ORA-01017: invalid username/password; logon denied"

I don't understand why I get this error, because I could connect to the database a couple of times using exactly the SAME user and password.

Thanks in advice.

Pinturiccio
Devart Team
Posts: 2192
Joined: Wed 02 Nov 2011 09:44

Re: I have problems to open a new connection

Post by Pinturiccio » Tue 11 Aug 2015 12:28

vslm wrote:I could fix the problem
We are glad to hear that the issue is solved.
vslm wrote:but now I get a new one:

"ORA-01017: invalid username/password; logon denied"
The "invalid username/password" exception can occur only when the login/password pair is not found on the specified server. It seems that you have a typo in the login/password specified. Or login and password may be correct, but the server is specified incorrectly.

Post Reply