[FIXED] Use dotConnect for Oracle without installing it in development environment

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for Oracle
Post Reply
rasheed
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat 23 Apr 2011 22:22

[FIXED] Use dotConnect for Oracle without installing it in development environment

Post by rasheed » Tue 09 Apr 2013 12:31

Hello,

We have a licence of dotConnect for Oracle 6.8.350 Professional and I would like to use dotConnect for Oracle without installing it in my development environment. So I've created a class library project with Visual Studio 2010 and EF4 and I followed this documentation http://www.devart.com/dotconnect/oracle ... yment.html to setup my project.

In App.Config, I've added the DbFactory :

Code: Select all

  <system.data>
    <DbProviderFactories>
      <add name="dotConnect for Oracle" invariant="Devart.Data.Oracle"
       description="Devart dotConnect for Oracle" type="Devart.Data.Oracle.OracleProviderFactory, Devart.Data.Oracle, Version=7.7.217.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=09af7300eec23701" />
    </DbProviderFactories>
  </system.data>
And I've added the following references to the project :

Code: Select all

Devart.Data.dll
Devart.Data.Oracle.dll
Devart.Data.Oracle.Entity.dll
I've added the licenses.licx in Properties as Embedded Resource :

Code: Select all

Devart.Data.Oracle.OracleConnection, Devart.Data.Oracle, Version=7.7.217.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=09af7300eec23701
Then I added an existing working EF4 Model but when I try to compile, I keep getting this error :

Code: Select all

Error 175: The specified store provider cannot be found in the configuration, or is not valid.
The error is located in the model MyModel.edmx :

Code: Select all

      <Schema Namespace="MyModel.Store" Alias="Self" [color=#FF0000][b]Provider="Devart.Data.Oracle" [/b][/color]ProviderManifestToken="ORA" xmlns:store="http://schemas.microsoft.com/ado/2007/12/edm/EntityStoreSchemaGenerator" xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/ado/2009/02/edm/ssdl">
        <EntityContainer Name="MyModelStoreContainer">
..
I've tried many tricks and did many researches and can't resolve this issue, but if I install dotConnect for Oracle, I can compile the project. So what does it mean? We couldn't develop without installing dotConnect for Oracle? Or I missed something?

Thanks for support!
Rasheed
Last edited by rasheed on Tue 09 Apr 2013 13:22, edited 1 time in total.

rasheed
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat 23 Apr 2011 22:22

Re: Use dotConnect for Oracle without installing it in development environment

Post by rasheed » Tue 09 Apr 2013 13:22

So finally I've found what was wrong! I've added the DbFactory to Visual Studio 2010 config :

Code: Select all

  <system.data>
    <DbProviderFactories>
      <remove invariant="Devart.Data.Oracle" />
      <add name="dotConnect for Oracle" invariant="Devart.Data.Oracle"
       description="Devart dotConnect for Oracle" type="Devart.Data.Oracle.OracleProviderFactory, Devart.Data.Oracle" />
    </DbProviderFactories>
  </system.data>
File : C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\Common7\IDE\devenv.exe.config

And now it works :D

So we don't have to install dotConnect for Oracle to develop..

Shalex
Site Admin
Posts: 9543
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Re: [FIXED] Use dotConnect for Oracle without installing it in development environment

Post by Shalex » Wed 10 Apr 2013 14:27

Installing dotConnect for Oracle in development environment is required for the following reasons:
1) building a valid license resource
2) installing provider's build action which divides *.edmx/*.edml into 3 files and either embeds them into result assembly as resources or places them in output directory as 3 separate files

rasheed
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat 23 Apr 2011 22:22

Re: [FIXED] Use dotConnect for Oracle without installing it in development environment

Post by rasheed » Thu 11 Apr 2013 07:28

We were able to build a valid license resource on our development environment and on the build server, please see my post here : http://forums.devart.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=26851

If you install dotConnect for Oracle and then uninstall it, you can build a valid license all details are in the post above.

So do we have to install dotConnect for Oracle on our build server? The documentation (http://www.devart.com/dotconnect/oracle ... nsing.html) is not clear about this point or I didn't found the information :(

Thanks
Rasheed


Post Reply