HasRows bug

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for Oracle
Post Reply
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu 04 Nov 2004 17:56

HasRows bug

Post by Frans » Tue 27 Dec 2005 09:12

I am using server and a version 8 client. The documentation clearly implies that OracleDataReader HasRows property is valid before the first Read operation (see the example in the docs). Howeve, this is not true.
1 qry.Connection.Open();
2 reader = qry.ExecuteReader();
3 result = reader.HasRows;
4 result = reader.Read();
With the debugger it was easy to see that result (and HasRows)was still false after evaluation of line 3, but changed to true after evaluation of line 4 (inspection of HasRows revealed it had changed to true also).


Posts: 725
Joined: Thu 28 Oct 2004 14:06

Post by Paul » Tue 27 Dec 2005 12:43

We reproduced your problem and fixed it. This fix will be included in the next builds of OraDirect .NET.

Posts: 24
Joined: Thu 06 Oct 2005 11:23

Post by achib » Wed 25 Jan 2006 13:10

Hi Paul!

I use OraDirect 2.5.3. When i use oracle client 8.0.6 the HasRows property works properly but when i use oracle client HasRows= false but Read() methods return true and rows. You must fix the bug!

Post Reply