Context for the entire database

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for Oracle
Fiend

Context for the entire database

Post by Fiend » Thu 25 Oct 2012 21:16

Hello,

I am a developer who has just come on to a project that is using dotConnect for Oracle 6.5 (using a LINQConnect context model) along with MVC.

The previous dev team used a single context model that encompasses the entire database. We have ~125 tables and over 100 stored procs all of which are defined within the context model. This context is getting instantiated on any DB call and it seems pretty expensive. The model context designer .cs class is nearing 100,000 lines of code.

I have never used dotConnect for Oracle, but it seems to me a better way of doing things would have been to at least split the model up into several context models based on different functional units within the website. The context instantiation would obviously be much more lightweight as the context would be pared down to just what is needed. Right now it takes a few seconds just to instantiate the context model... and this is on every DB call.. ouch.

We've also talked about caching the context within session for each user session so we don't have to instantiate the context on every single DB call (we briefly talked about a static instance of the context but it's not thread safe from what I've read so that seems to be a non-starter).

I just wanted to reach out to the community to get any input/ideas/suggestions you may have for improving the context architecture we've inherited. There are some major performance issues with the way it is currently designed. Would you say our ideas are sound? Has anyone run into similar issues and solved them in a different way?

Thanks in advance for any input any of you can give. It's greatly appreciated!

MariiaI
Devart Team

Re: Context for the entire database

Post by MariiaI » Fri 26 Oct 2012 11:48