Provider not found in Configuration

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for Oracle
Post Reply
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue 25 Aug 2009 15:12

Provider not found in Configuration

Post by zoomage » Tue 25 Aug 2009 15:18

I'm having an issue when I try to deploy the application using the clickonce method. When the application installs successfully and then attempts to run I get the following message on a user workstation (see below). I've checked to ensure that I've set the references to "Copy Local" and I'm not getting any License issues. What's missing???

Code: Select all

Type : System.ArgumentException, mscorlib, Version=, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089 Message : The specified store provider cannot be found in the configuration, or is not valid.
Source : System.Data.Entity
Help link : 
ParamName : 
Data : System.Collections.ListDictionaryInternal
TargetSite : System.Data.Common.DbProviderFactory GetFactory(System.String)
Stack Trace :    at System.Data.EntityClient.EntityConnection.GetFactory(String providerString)
   at System.Data.EntityClient.EntityConnection.ChangeConnectionString(String newConnectionString)
   at System.Data.EntityClient.EntityConnection..ctor(String connectionString)
   at System.Data.Objects.ObjectContext.CreateEntityConnection(String connectionString)
   at System.Data.Objects.ObjectContext..ctor(String connectionString, String defaultContainerName)

Posts: 2
Joined: Tue 25 Aug 2009 15:12

Post by zoomage » Tue 25 Aug 2009 15:48

In case someone else finds this useful I was able to solve this problem by using the following statement in the app.config. Don't forget to change the version number to match you version of dotConnect for Oracle.

Posts: 1
Joined: Mon 28 Sep 2009 21:03

Ever find a solution

Post by niko » Mon 28 Sep 2009 21:06

Did you ever find a solution to this other than the posted workaround? This seems like a real pain and shouldn't be necessary. I just ran into the same problem and had to make the same change you posted to make it work.

Devart Team
Posts: 7979
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Post by Shalex » Tue 29 Sep 2009 07:58

This is not a workaround, but the solution. Your environment has to be informed about the existence of the provider factory. The provider factory is described either in machine.config (globally), in app.config or in web.config (just for your application), but not in both files.
For more information, please refer to ... yment.html .

Post Reply