Problem creating new model, and updating existing model.

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for Oracle
Post Reply
LiverpoolPatriot
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed 17 Sep 2008 08:37

Problem creating new model, and updating existing model.

Post by LiverpoolPatriot » Wed 08 Oct 2008 07:30

Hi.

We have bought a license of OraDirect .NET Professional Edition and OraDeveloper TOOLS for Visual Studio. Using the OraDirect .NET Data Provider, we get problems. Trying to update a model generated, or creating a new model, we can connect to the database, we get listed the tables therein. But the last step, clicking "Finish", we get a hang situation in Visual Studio.

(The model we try to update, was created using the eval. version of the tools. The eval. version is now uninstalled, the licensed version is installed. (The eval. version was downloaded on the 23. or the 24. of august, and with this version we created a model without any problems)).

Does anyone have a suggestion to what may be the problem?

Shalex
Site Admin
Posts: 8241
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Post by Shalex » Thu 09 Oct 2008 10:36

The performance of EDM Wizard becomes lower when working with Oracle databases that have big schemas.

Varun
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu 13 Nov 2008 15:14

Missing stored procedures when updating model

Post by Varun » Tue 18 Nov 2008 20:17

When updating a model and adding newly added stored procedures or tables, the model does not show the stored procedures. The only way to get it back is drop the model and recreate with all the tables and stored procedures. Using dotConnect to Oracle 5.

Shalex
Site Admin
Posts: 8241
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Post by Shalex » Wed 19 Nov 2008 12:58

We don't recommend to use "Update wizard". If you decide to use it in the future, make "backup" before using it.

Post Reply