Can I clone the cursor of a TVirtualTable ?

Can I clone the cursor of a TVirtualTable ?

Postby jim papas » Tue 22 Mar 2016 08:26

Hi,
I want to manipulate a virtual table with two independent cursors (like two independent tables). Is this possible and if yes, is there an example, please ?
TIA
jim papas
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat 28 Feb 2015 12:53

Re: Can I clone the cursor of a TVirtualTable ?

Postby AlexP » Tue 22 Mar 2016 08:52

Hello,

Please describe the required functionality in more details.
AlexP
Devart Team
 
Posts: 5528
Joined: Tue 10 Aug 2010 11:35

Re: Can I clone the cursor of a TVirtualTable ?

Postby jim papas » Tue 22 Mar 2016 09:13

Let say that i have a VTable in the memory loaded from a file. I set a range on this table but sometimes i need to access some records out of this range. It would be very useful to have a second table component with the same data buffer but different settings.
Something like or better than BDE's DbiCloneCursor
jim papas
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat 28 Feb 2015 12:53

Re: Can I clone the cursor of a TVirtualTable ?

Postby AlexP » Tue 22 Mar 2016 09:40

No, there is no such feature in VirtualTable.
AlexP
Devart Team
 
Posts: 5528
Joined: Tue 10 Aug 2010 11:35

Re: Can I clone the cursor of a TVirtualTable ?

Postby jim papas » Tue 22 Mar 2016 15:53

At least is there a way to access the field values of another table row without changing the current row
Eg. i want to compare the value of the 3rd field of the current table row (table record) with the value of same field of another row (record).
Since all data are in memory, i suppose that it would be a way to randomly access them without moving from current record. Am i right ?
jim papas
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat 28 Feb 2015 12:53

Re: Can I clone the cursor of a TVirtualTable ?

Postby AlexP » Wed 23 Mar 2016 11:12

No, TDataSet - the ancestor of the TVirtualTable class - doesn't allow to implement such behavior.
AlexP
Devart Team
 
Posts: 5528
Joined: Tue 10 Aug 2010 11:35


Return to VirtualDAC