List databases problematic on 4.1 in direct mode

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding MyDAC (Data Access Components for MySQL) for Delphi, C++Builder, Lazarus (and FPC)
Post Reply
ramajana
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue 23 Nov 2004 17:22

List databases problematic on 4.1 in direct mode

Post by ramajana » Thu 25 Nov 2004 19:47

I drop TMyConnection on form. Now I would like simply to see all databases on server. I have two mysql servers (4.0 on Linux/network and 4.1 on Windows/localhost).
I have granted all on testdb.* to my_user@localhost identified by 'pwd';
Properties are set like this: username=my_user, password=pwd, server='', direct=true.
Connect fails with 'Access denied for user...'
Setting property direct to false.
Connect succeeds and I am able to select database from drop-down list box.
At my 4.0 Linux machine works with direct mode, too.

Ikar
Posts: 1693
Joined: Thu 28 Oct 2004 13:56

Re: List databases problematic on 4.1 in direct mode

Post by Ikar » Fri 26 Nov 2004 08:53

Thank you for information.
It's known problem and we've already fixed it.
Please download the last MyDAC version (3.30.1.13).

ramajana
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue 23 Nov 2004 17:22

Not fixed in 3.30.1.13

Post by ramajana » Fri 26 Nov 2004 09:03

Ikar, I am using 3.30.1.13 and this bug is happening.
Switching direct on/off is different in fail/success of connection.

Ikar
Posts: 1693
Joined: Thu 28 Oct 2004 13:56

Post subject: List databases problematic on 4.1 in direct mode

Post by Ikar » Fri 26 Nov 2004 09:38

We couldn't reproduce the problem.
Please send us TMyConnection definition and script to create my_user

ramajana
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue 23 Nov 2004 17:22

Reproducing

Post by ramajana » Fri 26 Nov 2004 11:22

C:\mysql\bin>mysql -u root
Welcome to the MySQL monitor. Commands end with ; or \g.
Your MySQL connection id is 91 to server version: 4.1.7-nt

Type 'help;' or '\h' for help. Type '\c' to clear the buffer.

mysql> show databases;
+----------+
| Database |
+----------+
| infiko |
| mysql |
| t |
| test |
| voda |
+----------+
5 rows in set (0.00 sec)

mysql> grant all on t.* to testuser@localhost identified by 'testpwd';
Query OK, 0 rows affected (0.08 sec)

----------------------------------

object MyConnection1: TMyConnection
Options.Direct = False
Username = 'testuser'
Password = 'testpwd'
Left = 112
Top = 32
end

Database dropdown shows t, test.
Connecting using Connected property works, too.

object MyConnection1: TMyConnection
Username = 'testuser'
Password = 'testpwd'
Left = 112
Top = 32
end

Database dropdown raises exception "Access denied for user 'testuser@localhost' (using password: YES)"
Connecting using Connected property switching raises the same exception.

object MyConnection1: TMyConnection
Database = 't'
Options.Direct = False
Username = 'testuser'
Password = 'testpwd'
LoginPrompt = False
Left = 112
Top = 32
end

Database dropdown shows t, test.
Connecting using Connected property works, too.

object MyConnection1: TMyConnection
Database = 't'
Username = 'testuser'
Password = 'testpwd'
LoginPrompt = False
Left = 112
Top = 32
end

Database dropdown raises exception "Access denied for user 'testuser@localhost' (using password: YES)"
Connecting using Connected works, and, if I connect first, then database dropdown works fine and shows t, test.

Ikar
Posts: 1693
Joined: Thu 28 Oct 2004 13:56

Re: Reproducing

Post by Ikar » Fri 26 Nov 2004 15:42

Thank you for your sample. It does help us very much.
We reproduced your problem and fixed it. This fix will be included in the next MyDAC build.

ramajana
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue 23 Nov 2004 17:22

Great

Post by ramajana » Fri 26 Nov 2004 15:48

Thanks, glad to help. When will it be available?

viggo

Re: List databases problematic on 4.1 in direct mode

Post by viggo » Fri 26 Nov 2004 16:18

Ikar wrote:Thank you for information.
It's known problem and we've already fixed it.
Please download the last MyDAC version (3.30.1.13).
I have read your answer , and therefore I imidiately downloaded (3.30.1.13), but it still does not work. If I remove user and password from connectiondialog, I am alowed to see the databasenames in the combobox, also if I choose "root" without password, but not if I use my own username and password. I use the trialversion, but if this will work, I intend to buy the Mydac-component.

mvh
Viggo Denmark

Ikar
Posts: 1693
Joined: Thu 28 Oct 2004 13:56

Re: Great

Post by Ikar » Mon 29 Nov 2004 12:01

In about three weeks.

Post Reply