Intraweb Pool

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding SDAC (SQL Server Data Access Components) for Delphi, C++Builder, Lazarus (and FPC)
[email protected]

Intraweb Pool

Post by [email protected] » Sun 16 Oct 2016 22:15

Good day.
I am new to Intraweb develoment.
I see there is a pooling option avaiable when creating a new Intraweb projects,
but it does seem to implement a bit more coding to implement pooling option.
Is it possible to rather use the Pooling option in SDAC instead (and leave Intraweb pooling unchecked)?
Thanks you

azyk
Devart Team

Re: Intraweb Pool

Post by azyk » Mon 17 Oct 2016 13:10

You can't use the TMSConnection.Pooling property instead of Pool Data Connections option of IntraWeb applications. This property enables/disables connection pooling to SQL Server in the SDAC: https://www.devart.com/sdac/docs/?devar ... ooling.htm

[email protected]

Post by [email protected] » Tue 17 Jan 2017 21:24

Hi
After a bit more experience and working in IW I am revisitng this topic. I think sdac pooling option should work seeing that IW will create a seperate thread for each datamodule that contain a tmsconnection.
If tmsconnection is connected with unique value for each connection (ny added "Applicaiton Name="+ "WebApplication.AppID" to connectstring). I am trying to minimize the number of open connections to the database, so i clsoe connection after query on page in done. Is above logic correct?
My question is this. Should I use Disconnected mode or manually disconnect after wach query,
and is there a penalty in setting the maxpool size to high. thank you
Wihan

azyk
Devart Team

Post by azyk » Fri 20 Jan 2017 12:11

Connection Pooling in SDAC.