PgSqlDataTable preview and editing error

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for PostgreSQL
Post Reply
chris901
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed 20 Jul 2016 04:21

PgSqlDataTable preview and editing error

Post by chris901 » Thu 08 Sep 2016 17:27

Hello,

I installed the update that fixes the crashing of PgSqlDataTable:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=34150

Visual Studio does not crash anymore.

However once you created columns you are not able to preview the data anymore.

Here are the steps to reproduce:

1. Drop a PgSqlDataTable component on the form and link it with a PgSqlConnection
2. Open the Data Table Editor and insert a query: select * from actor
3. Click OK to close and save the query and right click the PgSqlDataTable -> Create columns
4. Open the PgSqlDataTable again and preview data

The following error message will appear: http://i.imgur.com/iyxIKgd.jpg

You are no longer able to preview data once you created columns in the PgSqlDataTable.

This also means I cannot edit existing queries and change the fields or statement at all.

You also cannot change existing statments if the PgSqlDataTables' Active property is set to true.
Then the same error will raise.

Because of this bug I had to go back to the old version.

I am using this database:
http://www.postgresqltutorial.com/postg ... -database/

I installed the database like this:
http://www.postgresqltutorial.com/load- ... -database/


Best regards,

Chris

Shalex
Site Admin
Posts: 9543
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Re: PgSqlDataTable preview and editing error

Post by Shalex » Tue 13 Sep 2016 18:12

The bug is fixed. Please contact us and specify the email used when ordering the product so that we can send you the internal build with the fix.

chris901
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed 20 Jul 2016 04:21

Re: PgSqlDataTable preview and editing error

Post by chris901 » Tue 13 Sep 2016 20:47

Hello,

thanks, I emailed [email protected] and mentioned this question.

Shalex
Site Admin
Posts: 9543
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Re: PgSqlDataTable preview and editing error

Post by Shalex » Wed 14 Sep 2016 14:31

We have sent a download link by email.

chris901
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed 20 Jul 2016 04:21

Re: PgSqlDataTable preview and editing error

Post by chris901 » Thu 15 Sep 2016 12:26

Hello,

I have tested the new version and can confirm the error message does not appear anymore.

However there is an incorrect behavior when previewing data.

Steps to reproduce:

1. Drop PgSqlDataTable on Form
2. Connect it with a PgSqlConnection
3. Open the Edtior and set the query: select * from actor
4. Preview the data (http://i.imgur.com/ONMcrct.png)
5. Close the editor
5. Set the Active propert to true
6. Open the editor again and change the query: select * from film
7. Preview data (http://i.imgur.com/yliUSCY.png)

You will always get empty preview data because the columns of the previous query are shown in the editor. At 7. you can see the actor coulmns are still shown even tho the query got changed to select from the film table. The expected result would have been this: http://i.imgur.com/m6g2W1D.png

Pinturiccio
Devart Team
Posts: 2420
Joined: Wed 02 Nov 2011 09:44

Re: PgSqlDataTable preview and editing error

Post by Pinturiccio » Tue 20 Sep 2016 15:15

We have reproduced the issue. We will investigate it and post here about the results as soon as possible.

Pinturiccio
Devart Team
Posts: 2420
Joined: Wed 02 Nov 2011 09:44

Re: PgSqlDataTable preview and editing error

Post by Pinturiccio » Tue 27 Sep 2016 12:55

chris901 wrote:You will always get empty preview data because the columns of the previous query are shown in the editor.
This is a designed behavior. After setting the first query, the columns were created. Next time when you open the DataTable editor and modify the query text, columns won't be recreated, since you can, for instance, click Cancel after this, that's why schema remains the same. Or, for example, you created columns manually and if you modify the query, the created columns will be deleted.

If you want that columns in preview data were modified after query text modification, you need to call create columns for your table.

Post Reply