DataBase name on the UniCommand

DataBase name on the UniCommand

Postby giuliano » Tue 07 Dec 2010 00:11

Hi,

I am using the DataSet wizard (from Devart) and when the wizard creates the command, it automatically inserts the name of the bank before the scheme name.

For example:
the insert command, as below:
Code: Select all
insert into dbSample.public.table ...


Conflicting names with other databases.

how to avoid inserting the name of the database in command?

Thank you.
giuliano
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon 18 Oct 2010 12:59

Postby Shalex » Tue 07 Dec 2010 09:34

We plan to implement the "no database" and "no schema" options in Devart DataSet Wizard in the next versions of the dotConnect products. But no timeframe can be provided at the moment. We will notify you when this functionality is available.

As a temporary workaround, please remove the schema and database names from the generated commands in the Update Commands tab of Table Adapter Editor (you can invoke it by pressing the Configure commands button on the Setup individual data tables step of Devart DataSet Wizard).
Shalex
Devart Team
 
Posts: 7780
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Postby Shalex » Wed 12 Jan 2011 17:41

New build of dotConnect for PostgreSQL 5.00.86 is available for download now!
It can be downloaded from http://www.devart.com/dotconnect/postgr ... nload.html (trial version) or from Registered Users' Area (for users with valid subscription only): http://secure.devart.com/ .
For more information, please refer to http://www.devart.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=19970 .

The name of database is not included into generated commands starting from this build.
Shalex
Devart Team
 
Posts: 7780
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Postby giuliano » Fri 17 Feb 2012 13:57

Hello,

The problem is back. If I change any query using the MS DataSet Editor the name of the database is inserted into the query before the query name.

I am using the lastest build of dotConnect Universal 3.20.106.

Thanks in advance.
giuliano
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon 18 Oct 2010 12:59

Postby Pinturiccio » Thu 23 Feb 2012 14:24

We could not reproduce the issue. Could you please specify the steps for reproducing the issue. How do you invoke this 'MS DataSet Editor' and which Visual Studio version do you use?
When we try to reproduce the issue we had the schema name before the table, but didn't have a database name.
Pinturiccio
Devart Team
 
Posts: 2021
Joined: Wed 02 Nov 2011 09:44

Postby giuliano » Fri 24 Feb 2012 11:41

I'm using the Visual Studio 2010 with PostgreSQL. By 'MS DataSet Editor' i mean that instead of using the Devart Wizard, I'm using the Microsoft Editor.
To reproduce the issue, add a table to the dataset and the the database name will be there.

Thanks in advance,
Giuliano
giuliano
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon 18 Oct 2010 12:59

Postby Pinturiccio » Fri 24 Feb 2012 14:08

We have reproduced the issue. We will investigate it and notify you about the results as soon as possible.
Pinturiccio
Devart Team
 
Posts: 2021
Joined: Wed 02 Nov 2011 09:44

Postby giuliano » Fri 09 Mar 2012 11:52

Hello Pinturiccio,

Do you have any news about this issue?

Thanks in advance,
Giuliano
giuliano
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon 18 Oct 2010 12:59

Postby Pinturiccio » Wed 14 Mar 2012 08:54

We have fixed the bug with including database name to generated update commands for DataSets when working with PostgreSQL. We will notify you when the corresponding build of dotConnect Universal is available for download.
Pinturiccio
Devart Team
 
Posts: 2021
Joined: Wed 02 Nov 2011 09:44

Re: DataBase name on the UniCommand

Postby Shalex » Fri 27 Jul 2012 10:34

The latest (3.30.204) version of dotConnect Universal allows to exclude schema prefix and redundant conditions from the WHERE clause in the update commands of dataset. The way how it can be used is described at http://forums.devart.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=13999 (dotConnect Universal's option is "Use schema name"; the WHERE clause can be modified in the same way as in dotConnect for Oracle).
Shalex
Devart Team
 
Posts: 7780
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44


Return to dotConnect for PostgreSQL