CreateDatabase

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for PostgreSQL
Post Reply
-arno-
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri 26 Nov 2010 12:56
Location: FR

CreateDatabase

Post by -arno- » Fri 26 Nov 2010 13:15

Hello,
i have dowloaded the dotConnect for postgreSQL trial version 5.00 beta, in order to test the Entity Framework link. Some methods are not working (tried also in 4.95) :
- MyContext.DataBaseExists returns true while database does not exists
- MyContext.CreateDatabase throws an error saying that my database does not exists (yes, i want to create it :? )
I tried the same code using your dotConnet for MySQL, and it's working great.
If i create manually the database, and create the sql script to fill the database table, then the link is working, but i need the dynamic creation to work.
(another problem : the SQL script generated is not ok on a newly created database : the "DROP CONSTRAINT" lines are not accepted by postgresql if they do not exists.)


My PostgreSQL version is 9.0.1, i am using Visual studio 2010, EF and c# 4.0 and windows 7.

Am i missing something ? Where could i tweak something ?

Thank you for any help :)

AndreyR
Devart Team
Posts: 2919
Joined: Mon 07 Jul 2008 13:16

Post by AndreyR » Fri 26 Nov 2010 17:42

As for the DatabaseExists method, it is a designed behaviour at the moment.
We will investigate the situation with the CreateDatabase method.
I will let you know about the results of our investigation.

AndreyR
Devart Team
Posts: 2919
Joined: Mon 07 Jul 2008 13:16

Post by AndreyR » Tue 07 Dec 2010 11:56

We have implemented the CreateDatabase method in the latest build.
Please let us know if anything goes wrong.

-arno-
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri 26 Nov 2010 12:56
Location: FR

Post by -arno- » Thu 20 Jan 2011 07:36

I've downloaded the last version (5.00.86 12-Jan-11).
The only change i've found is that the DatabaseExists returns true when the database exists, but it now throws an exception if the database does not exists.
The createDatabase still throws an exception when the database does not exists (works well only to create the structure).
Thanks to help me....

AndreyR
Devart Team
Posts: 2919
Joined: Mon 07 Jul 2008 13:16

Post by AndreyR » Tue 25 Jan 2011 15:18

We will investigate the possibility to make some changes in this functionality.
I will let you know about the results of our investigation.

AndreyR
Devart Team
Posts: 2919
Joined: Mon 07 Jul 2008 13:16

Post by AndreyR » Wed 11 May 2011 08:30

The latest Beta build provides a possibility to create a schema.
It can be downloaded from here (Trial version) or from Registered Users' Area.

Post Reply