Creating dataset with wizard

Creating dataset with wizard

Postby aspirevishal » Fri 01 Feb 2008 10:57

hi,

What I am doing is not using table adapters / data adapters to create the dataset instead using command schema.

I follow the following procedure

1. select data set name
2. select connection
3. select data source type as NONE (Command Schema)
3. In data table add table that comes default as Table1
4. From data source dropdown select command schema it prompts me for the command
5. I type in the command as
select col1 , col2 from mytable where col3 = ':parameter1'
6. I select "Select Parameter Tab" add a parameter as parameter1 and give its data type bigint,
direction input


Now go to previw the data it gives me a error saying Parameter missing



Am I doing something wrong ??
aspirevishal
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri 31 Aug 2007 03:30
Location: India

Postby josito » Fri 01 Feb 2008 12:36

don't quote parameter:

select col1 , col2 from mytable where col3 = :parameter1

and the parameter will be created automatically.
josito
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri 05 Nov 2004 10:24
Location: Spain

Postby Alexey.mdr » Fri 01 Feb 2008 13:03

I cannot reproduce the error.
Try deleting quote signs next to the parameter.
Code: Select all
select col1 , col2 from mytable where col3 = :parameter1
Please send me a small test project to reproduce the problem.
It is desirable to use 'emp' and 'dept' database objects, otherwise include the
definition of your own database objects.
Do not use third party components.
If it is impossible for you to create the test project, send us a piece of
your code where the error occurs.
Alexey.mdr
 
Posts: 729
Joined: Thu 13 Dec 2007 10:24

What if using regular expression

Postby aspirevishal » Fri 01 Feb 2008 13:16

what to do if using reg exp like
Code: Select all
select col1, col2 from mytable where col3 ~'^:parameter1'

This would run in any postgresql database as
Code: Select all
select col1, col2 from mytable where col3 ~'^20'


I dont think you need a test case for this.
Create a similar query let col3 has values like 2000 , 20000 , 2001,208976
aspirevishal
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri 31 Aug 2007 03:30
Location: India

Postby Alexey.mdr » Mon 04 Feb 2008 08:54

Try this SELECT string:
Code: Select all
select * from TABLE where COLUMN1 = '~^' || :parameter1
Alexey.mdr
 
Posts: 729
Joined: Thu 13 Dec 2007 10:24

noop does not work

Postby aspirevishal » Sun 17 Feb 2008 06:11

sorry for the late reply


Alexey.mdr wrote:Try this SELECT string:
Code: Select all
select * from TABLE where COLUMN1 = '~^' || :parameter1



that does not pull any record from database.

moreover how will it help we are just piping the parameter also we using a "=" which does not make any sence in first place.

the operator that I want to use is ~'^ ' not =


looking for a solution
aspirevishal
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri 31 Aug 2007 03:30
Location: India

Postby Alexey.mdr » Mon 18 Feb 2008 11:53

I've sent you an e-mail.
Please try testing your SELECT query with a simple regular expression included.
Alexey.mdr
 
Posts: 729
Joined: Thu 13 Dec 2007 10:24

still does not work

Postby aspirevishal » Fri 04 Apr 2008 11:45

it still does not work .

what to talk about the wizard I am not even able to run a query with typed command. i.e manually written code.


I have a strong fealing we are missing this capability in the .net adapter
aspirevishal
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri 31 Aug 2007 03:30
Location: India

Postby Alexey.mdr » Fri 04 Apr 2008 14:29

Please send me (alexeyman*crlab*com) your project to reproduce the problem.
Do not use third party components.
Alexey.mdr
 
Posts: 729
Joined: Thu 13 Dec 2007 10:24

Postby aspirevishal » Tue 13 May 2008 04:17

I have send you the test case. hope you received it . If not please revert
aspirevishal
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri 31 Aug 2007 03:30
Location: India

Postby Alexey.mdr » Tue 13 May 2008 07:00

We have received the email with attached test.
Thank you for the test sample.
We are investigating the issue now.
I will let you now on any available results in the nearest time.
Alexey.mdr
 
Posts: 729
Joined: Thu 13 Dec 2007 10:24


Return to dotConnect for PostgreSQL