VS2008 and ADO.NET entities

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for PostgreSQL
sumpan

VS2008 and ADO.NET entities

Post by sumpan » Thu 17 Jan 2008 15:40

I would like to try out ADO.Net entities with postgresql so I downloaded PostgresSQLDirect.NET.

In Visual Studio 2008 server explorer I can find and connect to my postgresql database. I can also create a dataset based on a postgresql database table.

However, when adding a "ADO .Net Entity data model" to the project, and selecting "generate from database" it is not possible to choose the postgresql server. I only get MS SQL Server Express in the dropdowns.

Is this functionality that should work in PostgreSQLDirect 3.30?

If so, how can I make it work?

I know that my questions are very vauge, but please have patience, I am new to both PostgreSQL and ADO.Net entities.

Edit: ok, I found the c:\program files\CoreLab\PostgreSQLDirect.NET2\Entity directory, perhaps I can find the information I need here? If this is what I am looking for, please ignore my post.

Edit2: the wizard in the Entity sub directory fails with the following error message when generating model:

Value can not be null.
Parameter name: storeEntityContainer

Generator warnings:
Error code: 6003
Severity: Error
Message: the specified key does not exist in the dictionary.

I might have got some of the text wrong when I translated error messages spelled out in swedish. Is the wizard the way to go from here?

Alexey.mdr

Post by Alexey.mdr » Fri 18 Jan 2008 11:16

Did you make the steps described in Readme.html from \Program Files\CoreLab\PostgreSQLDirect.NET2\Entity\ ?
Did you try to run the provided samples?

We cannot reproduce the error.
Please send me a small test project to reproduce the problem.
It is desirable to use 'test' schema objects, otherwise include the
definition of your own database objects.
Do not use third party components.