Scheme problems in VS2005 data connection

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for PostgreSQL
tomhirt

Scheme problems in VS2005 data connection

Post by tomhirt » Mon 02 Jul 2007 18:33

Our former Postgres DBA setup schemes for our main database. I'm new to working with Postgres and VS2005 and have been using a test database on MS SQL Server for development. I did this since our previous .net drivers for Postgres did not work with VS integrated designer. So I was happy to find Corelab's did and have been using the trial version.

However, I have found the only way I can build data connection to Postgres is to define the scheme name. This doesn't work for me as I need to get data from tables in differnt schemes. So I'm trying to build a data connection without defining the scheme name. I'm prepared in my SQL statements to identify the scheme name. However, the data connection appears to default to scheme name PUBLIC when I leave Scheme blank and only shows the one test table.

Any suggestions?

Alexey

Post by Alexey » Tue 03 Jul 2007 07:34

Use the following syntax in your SQL statements:

Code: Select all

tomhirt

Post by tomhirt » Tue 03 Jul 2007 14:25

Yes, I'm aware of that, and prepared to do that. But when I go into the data source for a gridview for example, it does not see the table even though I specify the scheme name.

I think this is because I'm not building the data connection string correctly. Here's the entry in the web.config:

So as you see, I'm leaving out the scheme name, but when looking at the data connection via the Server Explorer, I see that the scheme name PUBLIC has been added, and just one test table is visbile.

Using the PGadmin tool, signed into Postgres and their is a public scheme with just one table called test.