setting an index to a table

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding IBDAC (InterBase Data Access Components) for Delphi, C++Builder, Lazarus (and FPC)
Post Reply
Khatchig
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed 30 Nov 2016 09:54

setting an index to a table

Post by Khatchig » Wed 30 Nov 2016 10:03

i have been using BDE now converted my data to firebird and using InterBase data access component in Delphi.
The problem is that in BDE i set index to table by calling table.indexname := 'indexname' in the interbase data access component i do not have indexname property, how can i use my created indexes??

thank you in advance

ViktorV
Devart Team
Posts: 3168
Joined: Wed 30 Jul 2014 07:16

Re: setting an index to a table

Post by ViktorV » Wed 30 Nov 2016 10:38

An analogue of the BDE component IndexName property in IBDAC is the IndexFieldNames property. See more detailed information about the method in IBDAC help: https://www.devart.com/ibdac/docs/?deva ... dnames.htm

Khatchig
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed 30 Nov 2016 09:54

Re: setting an index to a table

Post by Khatchig » Wed 30 Nov 2016 11:08

IndexFieldNames does not use already created indexes in the table. I need a way to call already created indexes

ViktorV
Devart Team
Posts: 3168
Joined: Wed 30 Jul 2014 07:16

Re: setting an index to a table

Post by ViktorV » Wed 30 Nov 2016 12:07

In Firebird, server indexes are used on data sorting and search on the server-side automatically, e.g., on execution of WHERE, ORDER BY clauses. TIBCTable can't use server indexes. Therefore, when using local sorting or search (using methods IndexFieldNames, Locate, etc.), server indexes won't be used.

Post Reply