Multiple compares on same table

Multiple compares on same table

Postby rand0m » Tue 23 Nov 2010 01:09

Sorry I'm very new to dbForge Data Compare for Oracle.

I am attempting to add multiple compare objects on the same table and can't figure out if its 1) possible 2) something i'm doing wrong.

Example:

Table ABC has columns COLUMN1, COLUMN2
Say COLUMN1 has string values Value1a, Value1b, Value1c
COLUMN2 has numeric values that I wish to compare.

I have setup a data compare object which compares:
Table ABC.COLUMN2 <-> Table ABC.COLUMN2
WHERE
COLUMN1 = 'Value1a' in the source AND
WHERE
COLUMN1 = 'Value1b' in the target

This works fine.

But then I now want to add another compare object which compares:
Table ABC.COLUMN2 <-> Table ABC.COLUMN2
WHERE
COLUMN1 = 'Value1b' in the source AND
COLUMN1 = 'Value1c' in the target

I'm not able to find a way to add multiple comparisons on the same schema/table. It forces me to use a second project. The reason I'd like these in the same project is so I can see them on the same report.

Thanks in advance.
rand0m

Postby .jp » Tue 23 Nov 2010 15:25

As far as I understand, you want to compare the same table twice in one project and in one schema, but with different conditions for rows selection, don't you?
.jp
Devart Team

Postby rand0m » Tue 23 Nov 2010 22:18

Yes that's correct. What would be the easiest method?

Thanks in advance.
rand0m

Postby .jp » Wed 24 Nov 2010 15:39

rand0m wrote:Yes that's correct. What would be the easiest method?

Thanks in advance.

Unfortunately during one comparison a table may be used only once. That's why if your conditions for selection change, you will have to perform the comparison process corresponding number of times.
But if you are using a fully-functional version (not Express Edition), there is a workaround. The first comparison we leave unchanged, and create a couple of views for the second one:

for SOURCE:
Code: Select all
CREATE VIEW
AS
SELECT *
FROM ABC
COLUMN1 = 'Value1b';