DataSet Manager with DataSet created before v4

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for MySQL
Post Reply
Zero-G.
Posts: 398
Joined: Sat 09 Dec 2006 12:20

DataSet Manager with DataSet created before v4

Post by Zero-G. » Thu 19 Apr 2007 12:49

Hey

So, how can I use the DataSet Manager from the v4 with some available DataSets?
I have a project with some DataSets, created with the v3. - But in the DataSet Manager, I don't see the DataSet.

Hope you can help
THX

wcarlson40
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue 03 Apr 2007 20:21

Post by wcarlson40 » Fri 20 Apr 2007 01:15

As you can see from my post:
http://crlab.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=9546
I am having a similar problem.

The solution given seems to be start all over again.....

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Fri 20 Apr 2007 07:45

To migrate from a standard typed DataSet, change its Custom Tool property to MySqlDataSetGenerator. If you're using .NET Framework 2.0, you'll need to delete all TableAdapters from the old DataSet.

Zero-G.
Posts: 398
Joined: Sat 09 Dec 2006 12:20

Post by Zero-G. » Tue 24 Apr 2007 15:56

Hey

So, thanks for the tipp. - I have deleted the TableAdapter & changed the Custom Tool.

Now, I see the DataSet in the DataSet Manager.

But, I do get many errors in the project. - Because the TableAdapter does not exist anymore. - To what I do have to change the tableAdpater? - because of the fill method and so on.

Thanks - Yours faithfully

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Wed 25 Apr 2007 07:23

Sorry, I meant to delete them from the form designer.

Zero-G.
Posts: 398
Joined: Sat 09 Dec 2006 12:20

Post by Zero-G. » Wed 25 Apr 2007 07:46

Hey Alexey

I have deleted the TableAdapter from the form designer. - And all other TableAdapter entries, I found related to this form.

In the DataSet Manager I have a DataSet called: dtsDruckAuftrag
In this DataSet I have 3 tables. - One of them is called: Kundendaten

I drag/drop the table (from the DataSet Manager) Kundendaten on to the form. Now I get a new property on the form Designer called: KundenDatenLink

Now, what to do now? - I have the following code to fill the deleted TableAdapter-which is not working anymor (logical)

Me.KundendatenTableAdapter.Fill(Me.DtsDruckAuftrag.Kundendaten, HwAuftrag, BrAuftrag, CStr(Kundennummer))

please help - THX

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Wed 25 Apr 2007 08:53

Our dataset generator generates typed datatables, but not tableadapters. If you need tableadapters, you should revert back and don't use DataSet Manager.

Zero-G.
Posts: 398
Joined: Sat 09 Dec 2006 12:20

Post by Zero-G. » Wed 25 Apr 2007 10:37

Hey

Till yet, I have bound my Data through Tableadapters.

Please give me an example how to bind data through datatables including parameters.

So, I found out, that it is enough, to use the fill method of the DataSet.Table but I can't get it working, that I use parameters. - And in the help file is nothing specific for using the Select Command and parameters.

THX

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Fri 27 Apr 2007 06:57

Please describe in detail what exactly you need.

Post Reply