Connecting to remote DB using DBExplorer

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for MySQL
Post Reply
Cody21
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu 01 Mar 2007 00:58

Connecting to remote DB using DBExplorer

Post by Cody21 » Fri 16 Mar 2007 16:09

I am trying to use the DBExplorer tool to connect to my remote DB on my ISP's server and am struggling. (This MySql stuff is very new to me as is the MySqlDirect)..

I launch the DBExplorer in VS 2005.

I issue the CONNECT with the following:

Host = http://www.cityswingsf.com
Port = 3306 (this was the default that came up)
user = blah
password = blah
database = cityswingdb
connectionname = whatever ... nothing matters

error: Can't connect to MySql Server on http://www/cityswingsf.com (10061)

My suspicion is the PORT= ... but I don't know what that should be. I have been reading through your Help documentation but still can't figure this out. or is there also something I must do on my remote site to allow me a remote connection like this?

Thanks again!

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Fri 16 Mar 2007 16:25

If you know the IP, put it into the Host field (or "www.cityswingsf.com" without http:// prefix). As for the port, you should know it. Consult your ISP. The default is 3306, you are right.

Cody21
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu 01 Mar 2007 00:58

Post by Cody21 » Fri 16 Mar 2007 17:40

Just to let you know, my Hosting site doesn't allow this. I have to use their "PLINK" product to do this. So it;s doubtful I will be able to use CoreLab's DBExplorer to access remotely...

Thanks ... and you can close this.

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Fri 16 Mar 2007 17:50

What is not allowed?

Cody21
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu 01 Mar 2007 00:58

Post by Cody21 » Fri 16 Mar 2007 18:28

"Direct connection to the MySql is not allowed on our server due to security reasons. You can however connect through a Secure MySQL Admin connection. Please refer to this KB ARTICLE: http://knowledge.3essentials.com/index. ... icle&id=38"

(In that article, they refer me to their PLINK product that I must download and install and configure.. after THEY grant me authority to do so..)

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Fri 16 Mar 2007 20:13

I see.

Cody21
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu 01 Mar 2007 00:58

Post by Cody21 » Fri 16 Mar 2007 22:51

Yea, nothing's easy in this world >> :?

Post Reply